A Twist in Time by Julie McElwain

June 20th, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Giveaway, Review 43 Comments

20th Jun
A Twist in Time by Julie McElwain

A TWIST IN TIME by Julie McElwain narrated by Lucy Rayner is the second novel in the Kendra Donovan series. Once again we are in 1815 and Kendra finds herself working to solve another murder mystery. A TWIST IN TIME was a stronger novel than its predecessor and offering an engaging case and character development.

Keep Reading

Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

May 11th, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Review 47 Comments

11th May
Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

RAGDOLL by Daniel Cole was an awesome discovery on audio. If you love dark, gritty, procedural murder mysteries with lots of twists and flawed characters you will want to pay attention. Daniel Cole is a new to me British author who mixed grit, humor, and twists into a story that had my heart racing as we tried to stop a killer.

Keep Reading

Bones on Ice: A Novella by Kathy Reichs

September 2nd, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 53 Comments

2nd Sep
Bones on Ice: A Novella by Kathy Reichs

I enjoy watching the hit show Bones staring forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan so I decided to jump in at book 17.5 and accepted an audio of Bones on Ice by Kathy Reichs. This novella features a preview of the next book Speaking in Bones. Brennan was personally requested to handle the identification of a frozen mummified human corpse believed to be Brighton Hallis, a young American girl who died from a fall while attempting to climb Everest.

Keep Reading

Finders Keepers by Stephen King

June 25th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 83 Comments

25th Jun
Finders Keepers by Stephen King

Finders Keepers by Stephen King is the second book in his Bill Hodges trilogy. I for one am enjoying these crime novels and its cast of quirky characters. I have been listening to the series on audio and love having Will Patton narrate them. Bill and the gang don’t get as much page time as the previous novel but King delivered a compel story with villain Morris Bellamy and a young man named Peter Saubers.

Keep Reading

Memory Man by David Baldacci

June 19th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 56 Comments

19th Jun
Memory Man by David Baldacci

Annd I have a new series to follow on audio. Memory Man by David Baldacci is the first in the Amos Decker series and one I will continue. A murder mystery thriller feature Amos Decker was an intense thriller that came to life on audio thanks to narrators Ron McLarty and Orlagh Cassidy. Memory Man not only had a compelling mystery but its hero made it even more interesting.

Keep Reading

The Alphabet House by Jussi Adler-Olsen

March 13th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 43 Comments

13th Mar
The Alphabet House by Jussi Adler-Olsen

I am always drawn to tales set during World War II and could not help picking up The Alphabet House by Jussi Adler-Olsen. Alphabet House is a psychological thriller about two British pilots who find themselves behind enemy lines. Their journey to survive finds them being admitted as patients in the Alphabet House, an asylum for Nazi officers. Adler-Olsen takes us on their harrowing journey during the war and after.

Keep Reading

See How Small: A Novel by Scott Blackwood

March 6th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 26 Comments

6th Mar
See How Small: A Novel by Scott Blackwood

See How Small by Scott Blackwood is a literary fiction sharing the aftermath of the brutal murder of three teenage girls. It shares the story of the survivors, the suspects and weaves in a paranormal effect involving the three dead girls who hover over the town and make occasional visits. While this tale with its meandering, erratic time line will not be for everyone, you cannot help but appreciate Blackwood’s beautiful prose, and haunting look into this small Texas town.

Keep Reading

Banana Nut Bread and Die Again by Tess Gerritsen

November 19th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Feature 35 Comments

19th Nov
Banana Nut Bread and Die Again by Tess Gerritsen

To spice things up on Wednesdays between “Waiting On” posts and reviews, I am going to share ”Recipe and a Book Recommendation.” Today I am sharing Banana Nut Bread and Die Again by Tess Gerritsen. She is one of my favorite crime, suspense thriller writers and I cannot wait to devour her latest Rizzoli and Isles book. They work as standalone and I hope you will check it out. Enjoy!

Keep Reading

The Swan & the Jackal by J.A. Redmerski

November 1st, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 33 Comments

1st Nov
The Swan & the Jackal by J.A. Redmerski

The series In the Company of Killers by J.A. Redmerski has continually blown me away. For lack of a better phrase or perhaps the most genuine assessment, “ this series is a total mind-f@ck.” Redmerski brings her dark, sadistic characters to life making you love them even as you cringe. The Swan & the Jackal is the third story and brings us Fredrick Gustvsson’s story. At its heart, it is the love story of Fredrick and Seraphina. These characters are dark, cold-blooded murderers, and assassins. Redmerski chewed me up and spit me out as their tale unfolded.

Keep Reading

Page 1 of 212