Skitter by Ezekiel Boone

May 2nd, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Review 28 Comments

2nd May
Skitter by Ezekiel Boone

Last year I shared my fear of spiders and my review of THE HATCHING book one in the Hatching trilogy. SKITTER by Ezekiel Boone is the second novel, and once again he takes us around the world as the second wave of spiders gets ready to emerged. Creepy and realistic this apocalyptic tale will leave you screaming.

Keep Reading

Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti

January 30th, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Review 38 Comments

30th Jan
Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti

Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti is the fourth book in the Scorpius Syndrome series. This is a post-apocalyptic romantic suspense set in Los Angeles. Justice Ascending shares Sami Steel the group’s lone female soldier’s romance with Tace Justice a former soldier and cowboy from Texas. Heat, suspense, ARC progression and a heartwarming romance kept me flipping the pages in search of an HEA.

Keep Reading

Beyond the Night by Joss Ware

December 13th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 33 Comments

13th Dec
Beyond the Night by Joss Ware

Lorna from Rabid Reads placed Envy Chronicles on my radar with its zombie-like creatures, post-apocalyptic world, and paranormal elements. Beyond the Night by Colleen Gleason writing as Joss Ware, is the first book in the Envy Chronicles. I chose to listen to the audiobook narrated by Sebastian Fields.

Keep Reading

Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti

August 29th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 42 Comments

29th Aug
Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti

Action-packed, with heat, heart and suspense Shadow Falling was addictive. Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti is the second book in the Scorpius Syndrome series a post-apocalyptic romantic suspense that has edge of your seat suspense, hot alphas and a romance to curl your toes. I thoroughly enjoy time spent with these characters.

Keep Reading

The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin

May 24th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 72 Comments

24th May
The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin

The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin is the third and final book of the Passage trilogy. The wait was long, expectations were high and attempts to savor this last book failed. The City of Mirrors was a brilliant finale to this epic post-apocalyptic fiction. Unique and brilliantly written the dark and light clash for one last battle as our future is determined.

Keep Reading

Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti

January 25th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 49 Comments

25th Jan
Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti

Mercury Striking is the first novel in Rebecca Zanetti Scorpius Syndrome series an intense post-apocalyptic romantic suspense that I devoured. Zanetti is an author I have been meaning to try and when I saw this was a new series in a post-apocalyptic setting, I knew it was fate. Action packed, with strong alpha males and snarky, intelligent women Zanetti started this series off with a bang.

Keep Reading

Witch Wood by Melanie Karsak

December 11th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 64 Comments

11th Dec
Witch Wood by Melanie Karsak

Witch Wood by Melanie Karsak is a novella in the Harvesting series, a zombie infested fantasy series I have come to love. It is highly original with magic and twists that keep me flipping the pages and eager for more. Witch Wood is also the first in the Witching Collection and at first; I wondered how it would tie into the Harvesting world. All I can say is that it does and it is bloody brilliant.

Keep Reading

Thicker Than Blood by Madeline Sheehan and Claire C. Riley

June 4th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 48 Comments

4th Jun
Thicker Than Blood by Madeline Sheehan and Claire C. Riley

Some books just naturally translate to audio and suck the reader into their story. Thicker Than Blood by Madeline Sheehan and Claire C. Riley is one such novel. Narrated by C.J. Bloom I quickly became caught up in this post-apocalyptic zombie tale and the characters within. Friendship, survival and a world that seems to have lost its humanity Thicker Than Blood will help alleviate withdrawal symptoms for fans of the Walking Dead.

Keep Reading

The Passage by Justin Cronin

August 24th, 2011 kimbacaffeinate Review 0 Comments

24th Aug
The Passage by Justin Cronin

The Passage has to be one of the most beautiful, horrifying, page turning, heart stopping books I have ever had the pleasure to read. It brings to mind Stephen King’s The Stand. Cronin’s writing is exquisite. I found myself unable to put this post-apocalyptic book down. It is an epic novel of human endurance, when faced with a catastrophe that will forever change mankind.

Keep Reading