End of Watch by Stephen King

July 7th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 54 Comments

7th Jul
End of Watch by Stephen King

End of Watch by Stephen King is the final book in the Bill Hodges trilogy and it was brilliant. I love King’s work from his classic horror to his twisted tales of supernatural suspense. The Bill Hodges series was the perfect blend of both. I continued listening on audio with End of Watch. Will Patton once again narrated, and I love listening to him. Suspenseful and twisted End of Watch had me holding my breath, shivering and wiping tears from eyes.

Keep Reading

Finders Keepers by Stephen King

June 25th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 83 Comments

25th Jun
Finders Keepers by Stephen King

Finders Keepers by Stephen King is the second book in his Bill Hodges trilogy. I for one am enjoying these crime novels and its cast of quirky characters. I have been listening to the series on audio and love having Will Patton narrate them. Bill and the gang don’t get as much page time as the previous novel but King delivered a compel story with villain Morris Bellamy and a young man named Peter Saubers.

Keep Reading

Revival by Stephen King

December 22nd, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 60 Comments

22nd Dec
Revival by Stephen King

Dark and disturbing Revival by Stephen King takes us on an unsettling journey that addresses man’s darkest fear; Death. Spanning five decades the characters and disturbing tale ensnare the reader holding them captive. David Morse brilliantly portrays the characters and notches up the suspense.

Keep Reading

Big Driver by Stephen King

October 18th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 48 Comments

18th Oct
Big Driver by Stephen King

Big Driver was originally published in Stephen King’s acclaimed collection, Full Dark, No Stars. It has been released as a standalone in celebration of the movie adaption. Tonight, Big Driver, will premiere on Lifetime Movie Channel. I was so excited to receive a copy of the audio edition of Big Driver. As a Stephen King fan, this one gave me the chills and thrills I crave from his novels. Dark, haunting, creepy and engaging I devoured this short audio.

Keep Reading

Mr. Mercedes: A Novel by Stephen King

October 11th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 44 Comments

11th Oct
Mr. Mercedes: A Novel by Stephen King

I am a die-hard Stephen King fan and have been since I was a teenager. I love his quirky characters, vivid imagination and his ability to pull me into the story. Recently I have been enjoying audio books and snagged Mr. Mercedes on audio when I saw the narrator was Will Patton. Mr. Mercedes was brilliant mystery crime thriller with an eclectic cast of characters who intrigued me as much as solving the case. I laughed, cringed and gave myself over to the audio.

Keep Reading

A Good Marriage by Stephen King

October 4th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 58 Comments

4th Oct
A Good Marriage by Stephen King

I was excited to obtain a copy of the audio version of A Good Marriage by Stephen King. The story originally published in the anthology Full Dark, No Stars. It is being released as a standalone in preparation for the motion picture release. A Good Marriage was dark and suspenseful. It will leave the reader asking, “How well do I know my significant other?’’

Keep Reading

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

October 14th, 2013 kimbacaffeinate Giveaway, Review 95 Comments

14th Oct
Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

I am a huge fan of Stephen King and can remember the first time I read The Shining. I was in junior high at the end of sixth grade and had been devouring King’s books. The Shining both terrified me and enthralled me, so when I learned we would be revisiting the little boy Dan Torrance as a middle age man I was all sorts of excited. Doctor Sleep held me captive from the first page, and while it did not scare me like the first, I found myself again impressed with King’s ability to weave an incredible tale. Three word review: captivating, suspenseful and worthy of a reread.

Keep Reading

The Shining by Stephen King

October 30th, 2012 kimbacaffeinate Review 19 Comments

30th Oct
The Shining by Stephen King

The first time I read The Shining was back in junior high and it terrified me. I didn’t even have the image of Jack Nicholson’s evil smile yet implanted in my head. The king of horror never ceases to amaze me, even the second time around. This time rereading it in my *coughs * forties *coughs* I got to fully appreciate King’s talent at fleshing out his characters. Filled with subtle horror, madness and a hotel that manifests and takes on a life of its own, this tale gave me all the creepy goodness only King can deliver.

Keep Reading

Page 1 of 212