Owl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish

June 6th, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Review 40 Comments

6th Jun
Owl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish
Owl and the Electric Samurai
by Kristi Charish
Series: The Adventures of Owl #3
Published by: Simon and Schuster
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.

magical mystery snarky urban

OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI by Kristi Charish is the third book in the Adventures of Owl series. Filled with danger and double-crosses, Owl and her trusty sidekick Captain face of mercenaries and the IAA as they battle to stop a supernatural war. Filled with snark, zany characters and excellent adventures Charish delighted me with this action-packed tale.

Owl dubs the suit of armor the Electric Samurai, and I loved all the tidbits we uncover about it during Owls quest. Her cases cross when her search for the missing designers has her hunting for the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Intense and action-packed, with a few twists, including an unlikely ally, kept me flipping the pages. Owl once again has to handle betrayals, deals and outsmarting supernatural entities and beings. While Owl still makes rash decisions and leaps head first we do see listen and accept help from others.

Owl is a modern day Indian Jones who finds herself collecting antiquities for Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. In this third installment, Owl finds herself contracted out to the Elves to retrieve a supernatural suit of armor. The IAA wants her to locate the missing designers of World Quest, and the IAA has merchantries on her tail. Such is the life of Owl. Thankfully she has Rynn, her succubus boyfriend, Captain her supernatural sniffing cat and others like Nadya. Let us not forget a certain World Quest elf named Carpe, who almost got them all killed in the last book.

I absolutely love the characters in this series from a bitter and fanged snake to Captain the cat who kills me with his antics. The romantic thread is kept to a minimum which isn’t surprising considering all of the trouble Owl finds herself in. It was fun to see them work side by side, or should I say, watch Rynn try to keep Owl out of trouble.

While each book features a new adventure or quest, there is an overall story arc, character growth and more that make it essential to read or listen to these books in order.

Nadya wasn’t present as she is off in Tokyo dealing with power plays. This was an interesting thread that teases us unmercifully, and I am anxious to know more. Maybe we will learn more in the next book, OWL, AND THE TIGER THIEVES. Thankfully we won’t have to wait long as it releases on September 25th of this year. Charish left us with a cliffhanger that has me counting down the days!

OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI delivered all the elements I love about this series and each book is a little stronger than its predecessor. Light, fast-paced and humorous I totally recommend the Adventures of Owl series to fans of Indiana Jones, quests, and urban fantasy.

Owl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish delivered action, suspense and plenty of snark.… Click To Tweet

About Kristi Charish

Author of OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS, an urban fantasy about Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix— better known now as Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. She write what she loves; adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists, pop culture, and the occasional RPG fantasy game thrown in the mix. The second instalment, OWL AND THE CITY OF ANGELS, is scheduled for release Jan 2016. Her second series, KINCAID STRANGE about a Seattle voodoo practitioner who rooms with the ghost of late grunge rockstar, Nathan Cade, will be out May 2016.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads everything fiction in YA, NA, and Adult. She's a self-professed Whovian, Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

40 Responses to “Owl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish”

  1. Stephanie

    This sounds like an excellent series to get involved in. I’ve added the first one to my wish list. I love it when you can get excited about all the characters in a book and not just the main characters. Secondary characters are kind of my thing. 🙂
    Stephanie recently posted…Task It Tuesday {6/6/17}My Profile

  2. Kim

    I just picked up my copy and can’t wait for this latest installment. I’m curious about this new thread and love the sound of Owl’s newest adventure in lost city of Shangri-La. I’m crossing my fingers for more romance and the unlikely ally.
    Kim recently posted…House of Furies by Madeleine RouxMy Profile

  3. Katherine

    I’ve been wanting to read this series since I saw your review for the first one! I’m glad to see it’s just as enjoyable in book 3. Now I need to actually read it! How can I exist an Indiana Jones type character? This sounds amazing!
    Katherine recently posted…Riversnow – Fiction ReviewMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge