The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz

April 11th, 2017 kimbacaffeinate Review 46 Comments

11th Apr
The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz
The Night Mark
by Tiffany Reisz
Published by: Harlequin
Narrator: Teri Schnaubelt
Length: 11 hours and 18 minutes
Genres: Romance, Time Travel
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Narration Rating: 4
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and the Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she's been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance, and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic.

ADDICTIVE Audiobook ROMANCE well written

Last year, THE BOURBON THIEF made my top ten list, so I knew I had to read THE NIGHT MARK by Tiffany Reisz. I chose to listen to the audiobook, and I quickly devoured this on a rainy weekend. Time travel, interesting characters, and fate made THE NIGHT MARK an interesting listen.

Five reasons to grab your earbuds and listen to The Night Mark

  • Tiffany Reisz is an excellent storyteller with a fluid writing style that lures the reader in and pushes the outside world away. As I closed my eyes and listened Reisz made me believe as I traveled back and forth in time. The entire story had this magical feel with themes of hope and love all wrapped in Reisz’s lyrical writing style. I loved how she connected characters from the past to the present. She surprised me by taking a different twist with the hero.
  • The story takes place in a quaint little beach town along the South Carolina coast and an isolated Lighthouse. We travel from the present to 1921, and the Lighthouse remains as a constant. I loved the attention to detail from the history to the townfolks.
  • THE NIGHT MARK had a wonderful cast of characters that will draw you in. Faye our heroine is in a very bad place when we meet her. She is still mourning the husband she lost four years ago and is raw from the poor decisions she made following his death. Those decisions have not only hurt her but others she and her husband cared about. I felt for Faye and understood her actions. She arrives in town to photograph the Lighthouse, and things happen that make her curious about a local legend. The build up to her finding herself at the Lighthouse in 1921 were seamless done. The secondary cast of characters was small and each held a significant role in the storyline. I loved Pat the painting priest and his role in both the past and present. For those who don’t like unanswered questions, Reisz even managed to share what happens to each of these characters.
  • Teri Schnaubelt narrates THE NIGHT MARK and did a stellar job successfully bringing Reisz’s story to life. While I am sure reading this would have been equally delightful, this tale lends itself perfectly to audio.
  • The romance both past and present will pull at your heartstrings. If you have ever loved or loss, you will instantly connect. Moments that could have been cheesy brought tears to my eyes as Reisz weaved her magic.

Fans of time traveling romances like THE OUTLANDER and THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE will enjoy THE NIGHT MARK.

 

The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz is filled with magic and made me believe. #audiobook Click To Tweet

About Tiffany Reisz

Tiffany Reisz

Tiffany Reisz lives on Mt. Hood in Oregon in her secret volcanic lair with her husband (author Andrew Shaffer) and two cats (one good, one evil).  she is the author of the internationally bestselling and award-winning Original Sinners series for Mira Books (Harlequin/Mills & Boon). Tiffany’s books inhabit a sexy shadowy world where romance, erotica and literature meet and do immoral and possibly illegal things to each other. She describes her genre as “literary friction,” a term she stole from her main character, who gets in trouble almost as often as the author herself.  If she couldn’t write, she would die. Probably in a volcano eruption.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

46 Responses to “The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz”

  1. Lexxie

    This made my top reads of 2017 list, Kim, and I’m so happy you enjoyed Faye and her fated story as well.
    I’m always amazed at how Reisz spins such a story I almost can’t leave it – and I can see I’m not the only one.
    Great review 🙂
    Lexxie recently posted…Review: Soldier – Julie KagawaMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Hehe..I have those other books in my tbr pile and still have not read them..but yes this and Bourbon are a whole new avenue and fantastic.

  2. Adriana

    So I guess the question is will this make your top ten list too?
    I’m not a time traveler fan because anyone who knows me it’s become like a phobia for me. I’m worried someone is going to get the wrong idea.
    The story line is very intriguing though. I can see where the legend could lead into something interesting. I feel for Faye and I haven’t even read her story. Wrong decisions can break you.
    Adriana recently posted…Thirteen Reasons Why: Netflix ReviewMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I have not read her more risque books, although the Sinners series is in my tbr pile but this and Bourbon Thief were stellar.

  3. Melanie Simmons

    I haven’t tackled this one yet, but I plan to get it very soon (I got my library to purchase the audiobook for me 🙂 ). While I’ve been a fan of Reisz since the first Original Sinners book, she is proving to be even better than I thought with all of these stories that are completely different from each other. I’m excited to try this one.
    Melanie Simmons recently posted…One Fell Sweep Audiobook by Ilona Andrews (REVIEW)My Profile