Heartless by Marissa Meyer

November 7th, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 72 Comments

7th Nov
Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Heartless
by Marissa Meyer
Published by: Macmillan
Genres: Fantasy
Source: BEA
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king's marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Fairy Tale fantasy HEARTBREAKING Truffles

I was ecstatic when I picked up a signed copy of Heartless by Marissa Meyer at BEA 2016. I love her Lunar Chronicles and have long been a fan of  Alice in Wonderland penned by Lewis Caroll. Everyone loves to hate the antagonist the Queen of Hearts, who declared, “off with his head” at the slightest provocation.

Heartless is the story of young Catherine before she became the Queen of Hearts. Myer’s telling of her history was wonderfully detailed and pulled at my heartstrings. Brilliantly told, this is not a love story, nor does it offer a happy ending but it is the story of how a little girl became a feared Queen.

When we meet Catherine, she is baking lemon tarts. Catherine dreams of opening a bakery in Hearts with her maid. She has never known love and tries to both please her parents and realize her dreams and ambitions. At the black and white ball, she meets the Jester, and her heart begins to flutter, but the King is eying her to be his Queen. The tale that unfolds was indeed a trip down the rabbit hole.

I delighted in seeing characters from Alice in Wonderland. There was the Mad Hatter, Cheshire Cat, and Peter Pumpkin. I adored, the Jester’s companion a Raven who talked in rhyme. Meyer’s said he was inspired by Edger Allen Poe and I delighted in the somewhat familiar verse. The Jester was mysterious, charismatic and handsome. I could see how Catherine was attracted to him. The King was portrayed as a bit of a bumbling buffoon and had me rolling my eyes at his attempts to court Catherine.

As we learn about Cathrine, and the men in her life we engage in lawn crochet, attend teas and deal with her ambitious momma. All the while a mythological creature is attacking the people of Hearts and Catherine is determined to stop it. It was all splendidly done, and I found myself slipping into the world and connecting with these characters.

Magic, prophecies, and characters of the Kingdom all added interest and slowly pushed us towards the catalyst that would forever change Catherine.

Heartless was riveting and pulled me down the rabbit hole. For fans of Alice in Wonderland and Marissa Meyer, Heartless is a must read.

 

Heartless by Marissa Meyer was riveting and pulled me down the rabbit hole Click To Tweet

About Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer is the New York Times-bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles. She lives in Tacoma, Washington. She’s a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, any occasion that requires a costume), and has been in love with fairy tales since she was a child. She may or may not be a cyborg.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

72 Responses to “Heartless by Marissa Meyer”

  1. Danielle Nolan

    As a huge fan of fairytales and retellings, Wonderland is my favorite! I am so glad to see that not only the story but the characters work so well fo you. Fingers crossed, my copy will be here tomorrow

  2. Berls

    I loved this so much! I struggled to write a review that conveyed how great it was – reading yours I kept going, man I should have mentioned that, or yea! Why didn’t I write that! So great review – mine is coming Wednesday 🙂
    Berls recently posted…What I’m Reading November 7, 2016My Profile

  3. Maureen Beatrice

    I’m almost ashamed to say I’ve only read the first book in the Lunar Chronicles. I really really loved it off course. And I’ve been wanting to read the other books too, but everytime there gets another book in the way. But I’m so going to read them ASAP. Especially after reading your review of ‘Heartless’. It sounds like another great book.
    Maureen Beatrice recently posted…The Sunday Post #33My Profile

  4. Cyn

    I’m glad you loved this! I really enjoyed all the delicious food and Alice in Wonderland characters. I really loved Meyer’s writing and despite the heartbreaking ending, I think that part really was powerful.
    Lovely review, Kim!
    Cyn recently posted…Ho-ho-ho Read-a-thon 2016!My Profile

  5. Melissa (Books and Things)

    *shakes weak fist at you*

    Darn it! I already wanted this one and now I know I must have it. Yea, this is the kind of book I know I will adore and now I will have to really bug my library to get it. Yep, this one WILL be read by me. I also have to finish her other series as well. So much reading… so little time… *sigh* Good problem to have. 🙂
    Melissa (Books and Things) recently posted…Story Genius by Lisa CronMy Profile

  6. Tyler H. Jolley

    My immediate reaction after the blurb was, “Huh, it’s interesting but probably not for me.” Then as I read your review, I realized my initial assumption was wrong. I think you need to have them add you’re quote on the front! “Brilliantly told, this is not a love story, nor does it offer a happy ending but it is the story of how a little girl became a feared Queen.” <- Now THIS is my kind of book. I love a good backstory. This is just the type of book I need right now.
    Tyler H. Jolley recently posted…Halloween ReleaseMy Profile

  7. Stormi Johnson

    I was not a big enough fan to wait in that chaotic line to get one…lol. Nor am I a huge Wonderland fan so I am not sure if I want to try it or not. I am glad it was a good one for you! 🙂 Great review.
    Stormi Johnson recently posted…Review of The AmateursMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Stormi, yeah I loved her Lunar Chronicles series, so this was one of the first books I selected when I bought the signed book package

  8. Katherine

    That’s awesome you were able to meet her and get a signed copy of this one! I’m always a little nervous when it’s a prequel about a character who starts out good and goes bad like in the case of the Queen of Hearts but I trust Marissa Meyer enough to definitely give this a chance.
    Katherine recently posted…The Queen’s Accomplice – ReviewMy Profile

  9. ShootingStarsMag

    I have to admit I’ve never read the original Alice in Wonderland books. HOWEVER, I am still very much excited about this one and I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. I just love Marissa Meyer.
    ShootingStarsMag recently posted…Timekeeper by Tara SimMy Profile

  10. Trish

    I can’t believe how far down I had to scroll to add my comment! I love how many comments you get on your blog posts Kim! And yay, very happy you loved this. It’s on my Christmas list and I can’t wait to read it. I love retellings, but especially the way MM puts her own unique spin on them.
    Trish recently posted…Boost It Tuesday – Grow your Facebook Page! #10My Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      LOL, my tech geek and I were just talking about that. He wants me to switch to Discus since I get so many comments. Oh, I hope Santa brings it for you! I love retellings too.

      • Trish

        That’s interesting. I wonder why he thinks Discus is better. I find discus to be difficult to log in to on my devices. On the computer or laptop, it’s fine but not on my phone or ipad. But at least all my comments wouldn’t go to spam! Your site hates me! 🙁
        Trish recently posted…Book Review: Green Tea Latte To Go by Aven EllisMy Profile

        • kimbacaffeinate

          LOL, and today your comment didn’t go to spam…lol He thinks it is better because everytime you come to my page all of these comments have to load. With Discus they are loaded from another source. I am fighting him on this.

  11. Kristin

    I am having such a hard time with this one and I’m not sure why. I know exactly what I’m getting into so it’s not THAT. I love Jest and Raven but I can’t “connect” to Catherine. She’s nice but kind of wishy washy, no backbone. I KNOW, I just need to keep reading. I’m right at the point where Jest is at Cath’s window and they’re going to a tea party. I’ll finish…. sometime…. soon….. I will… I’m so glad you liked this, though!!!