Marrow by Tarryn Fisher

August 22nd, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 57 Comments

22nd Aug
Marrow by Tarryn Fisher
Marrow
by Tarryn Fisher
Genres: Thriller
Source: Purchase
Purchase: Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

In the Bone there is a house. In the house there is a girl. In the girl there is a darkness.Margo is not like other girls. She lives in a derelict neighborhood called the Bone, in a cursed house, with her cursed mother, who hasn’t spoken to her in over two years. She lives her days feeling invisible. It’s not until she develops a friendship with her wheelchair-bound neighbor, Judah Grant, that things begin to change. When a neighborhood girl, seven-year-old Neveah Anthony, goes missing, Judah sets out to help Margo uncover what happened to her. What Margo finds changes her, and with a new perspective on life, she’s determined to find evil and punish it–targeting rapists and child molesters, one by one. But hunting evil is dangerous, and Margo risks losing everything, including her own soul.

ADDICTIVE freaky SUSPENSE twisted WTF?

Marrow by Tarryn Fisher with its clever cover and tempting synopsis found its way into my TBR pile. A recent blogger review bumped it up my pile and I devoured it during the March Take Control of Your TBR Challenge.  Twisted, addictive, dark, brilliant and gritty I devoured Marrow.

Five reasons to grab Marrow and unplug

  •  Marrow offers a strong protagonists and well developed storylines that pull you in from the opening pages. If you want a dark thriller with a bit of mystery and plenty of mind-twisting fuckery this book is for you. A few scenes go very dark and as the book progresses they become more detailed. Be warned there are a few triggers in this story. View Spoiler »
  • Tarryn Fisher has a wonderful flow to her writing and I quickly slipped in. The author allowed me to identify with Margo, and feel the despair in Bone. Margo lives in the Bone, a very depressed area of the city where folks struggle to makes ends meet and crack babies thrive . Fisher’s description of Margo’s home, “the food house” and secondary characters brought life to this tale.
  • You like superheroes, vigilantes and Jessica Jones. Margo’s friendship with Judah and the catalyst that transforms her were brilliantly told allowing the reader to experience a plefora of emotions.
  • You like the idea of strong friendships with a hint of romance, but do not require the swoon. This leans heavily on darker aspects as Margo escapes Bone and evolves. Her friendship with Judah hints at romance but stays firmly in the friendship zone.
  • Marrow was well paced and for once, a plot twist took me by surprise. It occurs around the seventy-six percent mark. What? OMG! I was holding my breath and murmuring. It was such a rush. I love a killer twist or reveal and Fisher nailed it. The final chapters were gritty, dark, twisted and addictive.

Original and captivating Marrow gave me one heck of a ride. Marrow is a standalone novel but I discovered afterwards that there is a tie in to characters/reveals found in Mud Vein. It sounds twisted! Recommended for fans of You and Dexter.


Dark, twisted and addictive Marrow by Tarryn Fisher pulls the reader in and never let's go. Click To Tweet

About Tarryn Fisher

Tarryn Fisher

New York Times & USA Today bestselling author Tarryn Fisher is cooler than you, but not one to rub it in your face. She graduated first in her class at Hogwarts school of Witchcraft and Wizardry. She is a lover of human nature, and a real life villain (House of Slytherin). Her heart is dark, but she loves you with it anyway. Currently she lives in Washington with her son and daughter.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Take Control 2016
Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

57 Responses to “Marrow by Tarryn Fisher”

  1. Kristin

    This sort of reminds me of one of my favorite movies of all time, Unbreakable, where the “hero” finds their superpower within themselves and helps right the wrongs, but with a huge twist at the end (insert evil cackle). I’m adding this book to my wishlist today!!! (crap, another book!!!) Awesome share/review!!!
    Kristin recently posted…Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay KristoffMy Profile

  2. Genesis

    A while back Lisa from Lost in Lit reviewed this book and it got me so beyond interested in it that I bought it. Sadly, I never read it but obviously this needs to be fixed. I’ve only seen positive reviews for it! I didn’t know it tied with Mud Vein so I’ll have to purchase that one as well. Great review!
    Genesis recently posted…Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow | Raw and PoignantMy Profile

  3. Katherine

    This sounds intense. I like friendships and don’t require swooning if there’s a strong mystery element to the story which seems like the case in this one. I’ve just started watching The Blindspot and this reminds me a little of that one. I’m adding it to my TBR.
    Katherine recently posted…Agatha Christie – Poirot Part 4My Profile

  4. Leona

    Everything written by the author has found its way on my TBR and taken off and then put back on. I have so many conflicting emotions on this author’s stories that I need to gone ahead and read them so that I can know for myself whether my gut feeling about this author’s writing is right or way off.
    Leona recently posted…First Grave on the Right by Darynda JonesMy Profile

  5. Braine

    I love the cover arts of this series but never really knew what it’s about. I love Jessica JOnes, this will definitely make it’s way to my TBR for sure.