The Voodoo Killings by Kristi Charish

June 1st, 2016 kimbacaffeinate Review 66 Comments

1st Jun
The Voodoo Killings by Kristi Charish
The Voodoo Killings
by Kristi Charish
Series: Kincaid Strange Novel #1
Published by: Audible
Narrator: Susannah Jones
Length: 11 hours and 43 minutes
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Source: Author
Purchase: Amazon | Audible
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Random House Canada is thrilled to announce the debut of a new urban fantasy series. Kristi Charish's The Voodoo Killings introduces Kincaid Strange, not your average voodoo practitioner...

For starters, she's only 27. Then there's the fact that she lives in rain-soaked Seattle, which is not exactly Haiti. And she's broke. With raising zombies outlawed throughout the continental USA, Kincaid has to eke out a living running seances for university students with more money than brains who are desperate for guitar lessons with the ghost of a Seattle grunge rocker--who happens to be Kincaid's on-again, off-again roommate.

Then a stray zombie turns up outside her neighbourhood bar: Cameron Wight, an up-and-coming visual artist with no recollection of how he died or who raised him. Not only is it dangerous for Kincaid to be caught with an unauthorized zombie, she soon realizes he's tied to a spate of murders: someone is targeting the zombies and voodoo practitioners in Seattle's infamous Underground City, a paranormal hub. When the police refuse to investigate, the City's oldest and foremost zombie asks Kincaid to help. Raising ghosts and zombies is one thing, but finding a murderer? She's broke, but she's not stupid.

And then she becomes the target...As the saying goes, when it rains it pours, especially in Seattle.

mystery paranormal urban ZOMBIE

I devoured the audio of The Voodoo Killings  written by Kristi Charish and narrated by Susannah Jones. By devoured I mean I listened to all 11 hours and 43 minutes in a single day. Urban fantasy and audio mesh perfectly for me. Charish quickly pulled me into this world and I cannot wait for more.

The Voodoo Killings is the first novel in the Kincaid Strange series set in rain-soaked Seattle. featuring Zombies, ghosts and Voodoo practitioners. Hells yes!

Fans of Georgia Kincaid, Kim Harrison and Ilona Andrews will feel right at home slipping into Kincaid Strange’s world. The setting and world had aspects that I am familiar with making it easy to lose myself in the story. Charish added a nice spin to it with the voodoo, world building, and summoning rituals.

Kincaid is twenty-seven, broke, single and living in Seattle with a ghost. She is a Voodoo Practitioner who aids police by raising the dead to find out who murdered them. She also does odd jobs like resolving will disputes and more. I immediately liked Kincaid. She is quirky, does her own thing and on occasionally loses her cool. I loved Nate, her ghostly roommate and Charish did a fantastic job of sharing their friendship. They worked wonderfully on the case together.  Think Rachel Morgan and Jenks. It quickly becomes clear that Kincaid is more comfortable around the deceased than the living.

The world building is solid, and something I have begun to expect from this author. I was surprised this was not set in NOLA, but that also tells you I agreed to review this by the author’s name alone. If you have not read her series, Adventures of Owl I totally recommend them. Back to the review- we are in Seattle, in a world where the paranormal, zombies, ghouls and ghosts exist. Laws are in place regarding the raising of zombies and holding séances but the new Chief of Police wants to ban Voodoo and denies the paranormal exist.

It looks like each novel will surround a case, and in Voodoo Killings a stray zombie turns up in Kincaid’s neighborhood. Cameron Wight has no idea how he died and why he is a zombie. Finding her number at a local bar he calls Kincaid for help. This puts Kincaid in a bit of pickle because being caught with an unauthorized zombie could land her in jail. Kincaid’s problems only escalate as a rash of murders targeting zombies and voodoo practitioners puts her and the entire Underground City (a paranormal hub located under Seattle) in danger. The story was fast paced, filled with snark, danger and relationship tension. I thought the mystery was well done, and even the villains were creepy, bitchy and fleshed out. Charish had me engaged with the characters and even managed to tug at my heartstrings. I am curious about Kincaid’s relationship with a certain detective.

Susannah Jones narrates The Voodoo Killings and I think she is a perfect match for this series. Her voice for Kincaid rocked and reminded me a little of Georgina Kincaid. She had just the right mix of snark and sweet. I liked her pacing, and listened to this at 1.2X. She provided different voices for the characters, even some of the scary paranormal ones, which only enhanced my enjoyment. The story unraveled in vivid 3D for me as I listened. My only issue and it is a small one, was that I kept hearing a noise. At first, I thought it was paper or pages turning. About 50% in I realized it was Jones swallowing. I have heard narrators catch their breath or exhale, but most of the time it is edited. It is silly, but it distracted me a little and I found myself waiting for her to swallow again.

The Voodoo Killings delivered all that I hoped for and more. Fans of urban fantasy, the paranormal and mysteries will enjoy this one immensely. When I pulled out my earbuds, I only had one question for the author, “When is book two being released?”

You can listen to a sample here: Voodoo Killings

Caffeinated's audiobook review of The Voodoo Killings by Kristi Charish Click To Tweet

About Kristi Charish

Author of OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS, an urban fantasy about Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix— better known now as Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. She write what she loves; adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists, pop culture, and the occasional RPG fantasy game thrown in the mix. The second instalment, OWL AND THE CITY OF ANGELS, is scheduled for release Jan 2016. Her second series, KINCAID STRANGE about a Seattle voodoo practitioner who rooms with the ghost of late grunge rockstar, Nathan Cade, will be out May 2016.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

66 Responses to “The Voodoo Killings by Kristi Charish”

  1. Stormi

    I have seen this around and I really want to read it. I find that I can do UF better on audio than reading and this sounds like a great one for audio. 🙂
    Stormi recently posted…Monthly Report ~ MayMy Profile

  2. Tyler H. Jolley

    You said it’s the perfect amount of snark and sweet. I wondered if it was a book that would make you lol. The blurb is whimsical, it definitely grabbed my attention.

  3. Leona

    This sounds a lot like the Anita Blake series – which for the beginning books I loved. I don’t know if I’d be able to read this since the earlier books in the Anita Blake series will always be my reign supreme. I’m glad you liked this read 🙂
    Leona recently posted…The Viper by Kele MoonMy Profile

  4. Katherine

    This sounds awesome and I’m seriously impressed you listened to all 11 + hours in a single day! It must have been quite a page turner. I like snark and I like sweet and I love the cover so this sounds perfect for me!
    Katherine recently posted…A Golden Cage – ReviewMy Profile

  5. Bookworm Brandee

    Charish is on my must read list but now I don’t know which series I’ll start with. And that’s saying something because I don’t typically like anything to do with zombies. 😉 But Kincaid seems like a fantastic heroine and I’d like to see how she deals with things. Plus, you compared her relationship with Nate to Rachel and Jenks…SOLD! 😀
    Bookworm Brandee recently posted…Brandee’s Bookish Babble #17 ~ Books & Best Friends Part 1My Profile

  6. Candace

    OWL is on my list to get but this sounds amazing as well! I wish I could just find more time to listen! Though lately I have been listening to audiobooks more then reading. Still, not enough.
    I’m glad I’m not the only one that notices those small things like the swallowing. I always notice when there’s been an edit and the tone is slightly different or something. I guess that comes with being a person who listens to a lot of audiobooks.
    Candace recently posted…Rescued by @PhoebeRoseBooks Review & #GIVEAWAY #nalit #romanceMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes…I hope you end up enjoying them as much as I have Candace! I constantly have an audio going. Whenever I cannot hold a kindle or book I listen

  7. Melissa (My World...in words and pages)

    Ooooh. Now this sounds like my kind of read. And I love Susannah’s work too! 😀

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge