Come to Me Recklessly by A.L. Jackson

April 6th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 27 Comments

6th Apr
Come to Me Recklessly by A.L. Jackson
Come to Me Recklessly
by A.L. Jackson
Series: Closer to You #3
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

His heart was turned off… Until she turned him on…Christopher Moore gave up on the idea of love years ago. Now, his life is an endless string of parties and an even longer string of girls. Enjoying the physical perks with none of the emotional mess, hes convinced everyone that hes satisfied—everyone but himself.  Samantha Schultz has moved on with her life. Finishing her student teaching and living with her boyfriend, shes deluded herself into believing shes content. But there is one boy she never forgot—her first love—and she keeps the memory of him locked up tight. She will never allow any man to break her the way Christopher did. When Christopher's sister and her family move into a new neighborhood, Christopher is completely unprepared to find Samantha living at the end of the street. Memories and unspent desires send them on collision course of sex, lies, and lust. But when guilt and fear send Samantha running, Christopher will have to fight for what has always been his

Come to Me Recklessly is the third book in the Closer to You series by A. L. Jackson and while it will work as a standalone. I recommend reading them in order. Jackson has taken us on quite the ride and I was anxious for Christopher Moore’s story. It has been obvious throughout the series that Christopher is avoiding painful issues of the heart and in Come to Me Recklessly, his past meets his present. The tale was emotional, heartwarming and bittersweet. Despite a personal hurdle for me, I enjoyed Come to Me Recklessly and all of its feels.

Caffeinated Aspects:

  • Jackson has centered the tale on three childhood friends Aly, her brother Christopher and their neighbor Jared. In the first two books, we deal with Aly and Jared. This time around, we see the impact an event in their teen years had on Christopher and met his first love Samantha Schultz. At its heart, this story is a second chance romance.
  • Jackson brings us up close and personal with both Christopher and Samantha using dual points of view. I love this perspective especially when there is a shared history. We get to see how both felt and reacted to the past events that ripped them apart and get their current perspectives as well.
  • Come to Me Recklessly picks up almost seven years after their relationship ended, when Aly and Jared bump into Samantha at the supermarket. A dinner party and an unexpected visit from Christopher have the two meeting again and we feel their emotions from seeing each other to dealing with the scars from long ago. It is at times messy and others are simply beautiful. Jackson gives us flashbacks from their youth giving us a sense of their feelings, mindset and revealing miscommunications.
  • Besides weaving in beloved characters Jackson also shares a wonderful bittersweet tale about Samantha’s little brother that will have you giggling and shedding a tear. It was a beautiful thread that served to remind us to live each moment.
  • Updates from secondary characters and Jackson’s ability to make you understand each character whether you agree or disagree with their behavior makes her one of my favorite authors in this genre.

Decaffeinated Aspects:

  • When Samantha and Christopher encounter each other, Samantha  has a live in boyfriend and while it is a very complicated situation, I struggled when the lines blurred. Since both have unresolved issues I agree, they needed to work things out, clear the air and heal but beyond that I had very little patience when a third party is involved. Samantha should have lived on her own for a bit to sort shit out.  However with age comes wisdom and I realize not everything is black and white. Did Jackson change my mind? Nope. I still say leave and figure your stuff out.

Come to Me Recklessly was beautiful, complicated and bittersweet. I recommend the Closer to You series for fans of Colleen Hoover, Jamie McGuire and Jessica Sorensen.

About A.L. Jackson

A.L. Jackson is the New York Times bestselling author of Take This Regret and Lost to You, as well as other contemporary romance titles, including Pulled, When We Collide, If Forever Comes, Come to Me Quietly, and Come to Me Softly. She first found a love for writing during her days as a young mother and college student. She filled the journals she carried with short stories and poems used as an emotional outlet for the difficulties and joys she found in day-to-day life. Years later, she shared a short story she’d been working on with her two closest friends and, with their encouragement, this story became her first full length novel. A.L. now spends her days writing in Southern Arizona where she lives with her husband and three children.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

27 Responses to “Come to Me Recklessly by A.L. Jackson”

  1. Jenny

    “Since both have unresolved issues I agree, they needed to work things out, clear the air and heal but beyond that I had very little patience when a third party is involved.”

    Same here Kim! Like you said, I understand that real life is messy and complicated and not as easy to sort when you’re in the middle of it as it is when you’re a more detached observer, but still:) Everything else about this story sounds great though, and I’m looking forward to starting at the beginning!
    Jenny recently posted…Review: All Fall DownMy Profile

  2. Ramona

    I love your review, especially the decaffeinated aspect – for obvious reasons. Third parties, especially in a setting like this, test my patience too. I haven’t read this series, and I’m on the fence about picking it up… I guess will see. Beautiful review, Kimba.
    Ramona recently posted…Happy Easter! (Zen Monday)My Profile

  3. Katherine

    There’s so much about this that sounds really great and I love that it’s dual narrator. However, I don’t like the live in boyfriend part of it. I know in real life stuff like that happens but I like my fictional characters to have their shit sorted out or at least be in the process of it!
    Katherine recently posted…A Fright to the Death – Blog Tour ReviewMy Profile

  4. Sarah

    Oh, brother, I’m not sure I would like this one- I’m not a big fan of cheating or quasi-cheating, even if the characters don’t make a move until they out of a relationship. Still, I do love a second chance romance. Maybe I’ll try book one and see how it goes. 🙂
    Sarah recently posted…Sunday Post #20 | New Blog Design…Again.My Profile

  5. Tika

    I’m actually really excited to read this! A blogger friend of mine recommended the first book to me yesterday, so I went ahead and picked it up. Hopefully I’ll be able to knock out all the books back to back, but we all know that never happens lol. This sounds like something that’s actually right up my alley, so I will be starting this series soon. Love your review 🙂
    Tika recently posted…Andddd That’s Ah Wrap! — March EditionMy Profile

  6. Bookworm Brandee

    Nice review, Kimba. I’ve been looking forward to Come to Me Recklessly as I enjoyed Aly and Jared’s books. You’re so right about Jackson being able to make you feel and understand her characters…whether you agree with their actions or not. I do understand your issue with Samantha’s actions and I have to admit I agree. But like you said, not everything is black and white. I hope I get to read this soon! 🙂
    Bookworm Brandee recently posted…Blog Tour Review & Giveaway ~ Eire’s Devil King ~ Sandi LayneMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge