Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker

March 12th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 64 Comments

12th Mar
Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker
Becoming Rain
by K.A. Tucker
Series: Burying Water #2
Published by: Simon and Schuster
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Luke Boone doesn't know exactly what his uncle Rust is involved in but he wants in on it-the cars, the money, the women. And it looks like he's finally getting his wish. When Rust hands him the managerial keys to the garage, they come with a second set-one that opens up the door to tons of cash and opportunity. Though it's not exactly legal, Luke's never been one to worry about that sort of thing. Especially when it puts him behind the wheel of a Porsche 911 and onto the radar of gorgeous socialite named Rain. Clara Bertelli is at the top of her game-at only twenty-six years old, she's one of the most successful undercover officers in the Washington D.C. major crime unit, and she's just been handed a case that could catapult her career and expose one of the west coast's most notorious car theft rings. But, in order to do it, she'll need to go deep undercover as Rain Martines. Her target? The twenty-four-year old nephew of a key player who appears ready to follow in his uncle's footsteps. As Clara drifts deeper into the luxurious lifestyle of Rain, and further into the arms of her very attractive and charming target, the lines between right and wrong start to blur, making her wonder if she'll be able to leave it all behind. Or if she'll even want to.

Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker is the second book in the Burying Water series and while this is dubbed new adult it could very easily fall in the adult romantic suspense genre. Undercover FBI, romance, fancy cars and swoon-worthy moments had me quickly lost myself within its pages.

Clara Bertelli is twenty-six and currently one of the top undercover detectives in the Washington D.C, major crime units. She has been assigned a high profile case that may land her the FBI job she has been coveting. The job takes her to Seattle where she poses as Rain Martines. Her job is to gain the trust of twenty-four year old Luke Boone. Fans of Burying Water will remember this yummy mechanic. Luke works for his Uncle Rust. Rust owns several legitimate businesses, in particular the auto shop that Luke works at. It is believed that Luke is being groomed to run the shop and the illegal businesses as well.

Tucker shared the tale in dual perspectives letting us inside the minds of both Clara (Rain) and Luke. I think it worked perfectly and allowed me to understand where they were coming from as well as experience their emotions. The romance felt genuine and progressed slow. The forbidden romance trope added additional suspense to the tale and balanced out the investigation. I love that Tucker took things slowly, kept the angst low and did not rush things. We spent a little bit of time with Water and Jessie and I enjoyed how their story was threaded into the tale.

“I don’t care about any of it. All I want to do is lean forward and kiss him. Steal him away from the bad stuff, convince him to start over because I believe he isn’t beyond saving yet.”

“You’re perfect. Almost too perfect … Sometimes I wonder if you’re even real.”
I close my eyes with his words, as his mouth finds my collarbone. I am real. At least, parts of who he’s seen are. And this is real, what’s happening between us right now.”

The criminal case, wire-taps, and high profile players created suspense as Clara weaved her way into Luke’s life. Fast cars, boats, guns and secrets had me flipping the pages. I love the slightly darker romantic suspense that Tucker delivers leaving the angst of your typical new adult books behind.

Fans of Burying Water, Tucker and romantic suspense from new adult to adult will enjoy Becoming Rain and its well-developed characters and nail-biting case.

About K.A. Tucker

Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads everything fiction in YA, NA, and Adult. She's a self-professed Whovian, Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

64 Responses to “Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker”

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Each book of hers is stronger then its predecessor.

  1. Melliane

    Oh I didn’t realize it was a book 2, I was so sure it was a new series so thank you for the info. In any case it’s great that the sequel is that good and that you had a great time with it. I confess that it’s making me curious. I’ll have to check out book 1. thanks for the review.
    Melliane recently posted…Karen Memory by Elizabeth BearMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Each book totally works as a standalone..but each focuses on different characters.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes I would agree with that, these to me are stronger

  2. Ramona

    Holy scrumptiousness, this sounds REALLY good. I love that she’s so tempted that she almost forgets everything else – that’s the sign of an interesting romance. I haven’t read the first book, but I’ll put it on my list for books to read on holidays. Truth be told, I’ve always had a weak spot for yummy mechanics, lol 🙂 Great review!
    Ramona recently posted…Fifty Shades Of Grey EffectMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Hmm, yeah I like a man who is good with his hands *winks*

  3. Silvia

    I knew about this book because a friend of mine mentioned it and was really excited to read it. I must say, it’s surely intriguing and, although I don’t read much of romantic suspense, I think I’m going to make a note about this one.
    Silvia recently posted…“Hero” by Samantha YoungMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      romantic suspense is one of my favorite in the genre

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It isn’t necessary to read book one, but I do love her books and this series has delivered

  4. Jenny

    ” I love the slightly darker romantic suspense that Tucker is delivers leaving the angst of your typical new adult books behind.”

    That line right there has me sold Kim! I’ve come to fear NA books for the over the top angst they consistently deliver, so I’m always wary when I see the NA label. I’m so glad this story is dramatic and emotionally intense without the unnecessary angst. Must read!
    Jenny recently posted…Review: The Bedding ProposalMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      well I am glad despite the extra word “is” in that sentence. Lord. This is one of the reasons it feels like adult romantic suspense to me..I hope you enjoy it!

  5. Nick

    I loved this one so much too! I agree it should probably be classified as adult suspense, but I’m okay with it being classified as NA because we need more creativity in that genre.
    Luke and Rain were so good together!! Who do you think the next book is about? 😀
    Lovely review, Kim!
    Nick recently posted…Blog Tour Stop : Red by Alyxandra HarveyMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      LOL, yes we do. I have no idea about the next book but cannot wait 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Sometimes it fun to explore outside of your typical genres and Tucker is a wonderful place to start.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Tucker is a favorite of mine here at the blog and I’ve read most all of her books.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Squee..it was good and suspenseful but this one was stronger.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Lauren. I enjoy Tucker and this romantic suspense series has been exceptionally good.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It is Grace and I love romantic suspense..it looks like the whole series will be 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, I liked that aspect too and agree the covers are good

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I hate that this is classified NA it really reads like an adult romantic suspense even though the male character is 24.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      She develops her characters and keeps it realistic. Plus I love the suspense angle

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Totally agree..I have read all of her books and love the strengthen of her skills

  6. Sharon

    I’ve heard so many good things about this author’s work. I need to give her a try. This book sounds good, so glad you enjoyed it.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I hope you do Sharon 🙂 this series is the perfect place to start

    • kimbacaffeinate

      then my job here is done. Enjoy your weekend Angela!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes total standalone but we do see character cross-over

  7. Tyler H Jolley

    I really enjoy undercover, PI, FBI crime stories right now. I’m so excited to start Becoming Rain. There were actually two reviews of it in my Bloglovin’ feed today!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This series has been quite good Tyler. I adore Tucker but this series is by far her strongest.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved her previous books but these are by far my favorite.