First Time in Forever by Sarah Morgan

February 24th, 2015 kimbacaffeinate Review 68 Comments

24th Feb
First Time in Forever by Sarah Morgan
First Time in Forever
by Sarah Morgan
Series: Puffin Island #1
Published by: Harlequin
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Windswept, isolated and ruggedly beautiful, Puffin Island is a haven for day-trippers and daydreamers alike. But this charming community has a way of bringing people together in the most unexpected ways…  It's been a summer of firsts for Emily Donovan. From becoming a stand-in mom to her niece Lizzie to arriving on Puffin Island, her life has become virtually unrecognizable. Between desperately safeguarding Lizzie and her overwhelming fear of the ocean—which surrounds her everywhere she goes!—Emily has lost count of the number of "just breathe" pep talks she's given herself. And that's before charismatic local yacht club owner Ryan Cooper kisses her…  Ryan knows all about secrets. And it's clear that newcomer Emily—with her haunted eyes and the little girl she won't let out of her sight—is hiding from something besides the crazy chemistry between them. So Ryan decides he's going to make it his personal mission to help her unwind and enjoy the sparks! But can Puffin Island work its magic on Emily and get her to take the biggest leap of trust of all—putting her heart in someone else's hands?

First Time in Forever is the first book in Sarah Morgan’s new Puffin Island series and I fell in love with the characters and island folks. I am packing my bags folks and hope you decide to come with me. The series will center on Emily, Skylar and Brittany. They are friends who met in college and have remained friends who support each other. Each book will focus on one of them and it all takes place on Puffin Island.

Coffee dates with First Time in Forever

First date: We meet Emily and Lizzie her niece as they make their way on the ferry to Puffin Island. Emily has an overwhelming fear of water and is very unsure of her new role as Emily’s stand-in Mom. Morgan allowed me to connect to both of them and I am anxious to see what develops. Enter Ryan Cooper. He owes Brit a favor and when she asks him to check in on her friend staying at the Castaway Cottage he agrees. She isn’t his type and the kid should be an instant warning but he cannot help getting involved. She is frightened by Ryan and yet drawn to him.

Second date: Ryan instinctively knows Emily is hiding something but there is no denying the chemistry between them. It was fun unraveling their secrets and getting to know the characters, the island and the town folks. Emily kept folks at arm’s length but here on the island she is finding it hard, especially with Ryan who awakens things in her. Morgan takes time to flesh out the characters, sharing their backstory and giving the reader a sense of what makes them tick. She allowed me to connect and become caught-up in their story. Lizzie is adorable and I dare you not to fall for her. From Ryan’s grandmother to the ice cream shop Morgan brings the island to life. Skylar one of Emily’s best friends visits and we see some chemistry between her and Ryan’s friends. When and if these two tango it should be delicious. Skylar has a tendency to speak her mind and the banter was hilarious. Morgan also hinted at what direction Brit’s story will take and it looks like a second chance romance.

Third date: Watching Ryan and Emily tango gave me the warm fuzzes. The island is transforming Emily and she is slowly breaking out of her shell. The romance developed slowly and was not without obstacles as each realizes what they wanted is not what they need at all. Danger, a fright and a little angst surround our final date but it was not overly done. A meddling grandma and townsfolk added to the charm and endeared me to the island.

Fans of Robyn Carr and Bella Andre will love First Time in Forever and Puffin Island. I have enjoyed all of Sarah Morgan’s small-town romances and look forward to Some Kind of Wonderful, Brittany’s story coming in August of 2015.

Puffins

Puffin

Here is a fantastic article from the Smithsonian regarding Puffins off the coast of Maine- A Puffin ComeBack

About Sarah Morgan

USA Today bestselling author Sarah Morgan writes hot, happy contemporary romance and her trademark humour and sensuality have gained her fans across the globe. She has been nominated four years in succession for the prestigious RITA© Award from the Romance Writers of America and has won the award twice, in 2012 and 2013. She also won the RT Reviewers’ Choice Award in 2012 and has made numerous appearances in their ‘Top Pick’ slot. Sarah lives near London, and when she isn’t reading or writing she loves being outdoors, preferably on vacation so she can forget the house needs tidying.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

68 Responses to “First Time in Forever by Sarah Morgan”

  1. Faye

    Awww that Puffins is bloody cute @_@ Reminds me of a Penguin… that flies. LOL.

    In any case, small-town romances definitely have their own charm. It kinda matches with slow burn romances, if you think about it, especially since in the countryside, time is usually slower because of how peaceful and leisurely the surroundings are. Plus, a meddling grandma? Come on, who wouldn’t want that?
    Faye recently posted…Review: Queen of the Tearling by Erika JohansenMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I do love mixing in these sweet romances..it is the small-town setting that draws me to them

  2. Ramona

    Oh, goodness! Not only does this sound like it’s got substance, but just thinking of the setting where the story unfolds makes me warm and fuzzy inside… I want to read this right away! A beautifully constructed review, Kimba – as always. It’s a pleasure to read your thoughts.
    Ramona recently posted…Zen Monday: MagicMy Profile

  3. Jenny

    *packs bags and prepares to join you on Puffin Island* I really like the sound of this one Kim! I’m glad to know the drama and angst at toward the end aren’t overdone, I hate it when a slow build romance suddenly devolves into over the top craziness before the HEA. Adding this to my list!
    Jenny recently posted…The Sin Eater’s Daughter: Guest Post + GiveawayMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Nope it was just enough to get you caught up. I am glad your bags are packed. Bring books, quite a few of us are going to hit the beach, drink margaritas and read.

  4. Debbie Haupt

    Kim, great review, I also LOVED First Time in Forever. Sarah has become a go-to author for me and I have the privilege of reviewing her for RT magazine it started with her HQN Presents titles and now that she’s writing mainstream fiction it’s continuing.
    This is the debut to the series but she introduces us to the series in a Presents novel titled Playing By The Greek’s Rules, here’s a link to her website about it-http://sarahmorgan.com/books/playing-by-the-greeks-rules/
    Debbie Haupt recently posted…One Wish by Robyn Carr – Q&AMy Profile

  5. fran

    Puffins are truly adorable birds! I have always wanted to live on an island. I see myself all sunburned and windswept and looking forward to tourist season yet dreading it. Selling cool homemade beauty products or crafts or eclectic clothing or maybe work in the library. IDK.
    Your review of this book made me think of all is. So the book must be good. Thats my logic and I am sticking to it. lol.
    fran recently posted…White Girl ProblemsMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Awe, that is a shame, I knew she was holding back and glad you warmed up eventually.

  6. Bookworm Brandee

    I’ve not read anything by Morgan before but this one had caught my attention I’m glad to see you enjoyed it so well. I’m curious about what Emily’s hiding and I’d also like to watch the romance build. 🙂 A meddling grandma is always something fun and it sounds like Lizzie added a lot to the story. I like when children aren’t just “background noise.”
    Bookworm Brandee recently posted…Travel by the Book ~ Lake QuinaultMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I do too Brandi and Lizzie was great. Meddling grandma’s always make me giggle,

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge