Amity by Micol Ostow

kimbacaffeinate Review 96 Comments

14th Aug
Amity by Micol Ostow
Amity
by Micol Ostow
Publisher: Egmont
on August 26, 2014
Genres: Horror
Source: Publisher
Reading Challenges: ebook
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
two-half-starstwo-half-starstwo-half-stars
For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break. But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her? Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again. Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.

While the tagline boldly states for fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, I am not entirely sure that it did Amity any favors. Amity by Micol Ostow is not a retelling of the original Amity house, but rather a book inspired by the events that occurred there. While the tale is atmospheric and has creepy moments, it does not have that smooth, eerie, descriptive vibe that is notoriously King. Amity is a young adult horror that explores the psyche of two characters, and its intended audience will enjoy the atmospheric, suspenseful tale.

Amity delves into two different families arriving at and living at Amity. One occurs ten years ago and another in the present. There is Gwen’s family who has just moved into the present day Amity, then Conner, and his twin sister Jules, who lived there in the past. All of the characters are creepy, no downright weird would be more appropriate. Even their parents will make you shiver. Gwen suffered a mental breakdown prior to the move, and the author explains what occurred later in the novel, leaving us to guess for most of it. Conner, on the other hand, is disturbing and the more the author shows -well let us just say it made me shiver and leave it at that.

Amity takes us back and forth between the two families and the creepy events that unfold during their stay. As the tale progresses the two stories intertwine leaving the reader, scrambling to sort out what is real. The tale has some horror scenes that will remind you of the Amityville Horror movie, but these are tamer and toned down. Amity is itself a living breathing entity with a personality all of its own and I must give credit to Ostow in this regard.

As much as I enjoyed the creepy moments and suspenseful vibe, the tale had flaws that kept me from completely losing myself within its pages. I loved how Ostow weaved in historical facts and the multiple perspectives but at times, it did not move fluidly. Some moments felt rushed while others were over the top. The author does an excellent job of keeping the reader off balance through her characters and the house itself. I questioned the magical aspect of Gwen and wonder if it did not hurt the story. The characters are strange, and the author makes you look at them askew. They are not likeable, and I do not believe we were supposed to connect to them in any real way but it created a disconnect. Despite some predictable moments and lag in areas overall, I enjoyed this atmospheric tale and applaud the author’s approach.

Young adults looking for a creepy, hair-raising horror will find Amity weird, horrifying and twisted.

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads everything fiction in YA, NA, and Adult. She's a self-professed Whovian, Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat...

96 Responses to “Amity by Micol Ostow”

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It wasn’t bad, and I think for a younger audience it will be creepy, but I did have issues with it.

  1. Faye D'Social Potato
    Twitter:

    This sounds interesting enough to take a look and to satisfy the horror fan in me, but I guess that’s only as far as it goes :( I have never watched or read or whatever the original material this was inspired from, but I’ve heard enough to know that it was creeptastic. Sad that it doesn’t live up to its reputation D: But of well, there are still creepy scenes, and I’ll take that! :)
    Faye D’Social Potato recently posted…ARC Review + PH Giveaway: Dangerous Boys by Abigail HaasMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This is creepy, and for young adult I think satisfying enough, it just didn’t work for me as a whole.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I know, it does have elements I enjoyed but overall it didn’t work for me.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yeah Tanja, while this was toned down, it is edgy for it’s intended audience.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Margarette, even though this wasn’t a winner with me, I kept reading..so aspects were good. It just didn’t work as a whole.

  2. Katherine
    Twitter:

    Hmmm… I really enjoyed the Amityville movies (and the Amityville themed CSI:NY) but I’m not sure about this one. I haven’t read much horror so this may be a good way to try the genre but I’m guessing the things that didn’t work for you wouldn’t work for me. I’ll have to add this to the think about it pile. Great review!
    Katherine recently posted…Agatha Christie Challenge – Non-Series Books 1960sMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It wasn’t a compete loss or I would have done a DNF. Some aspects were brilly but I struggled with others.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved the movie too, but this is based on the original real-life Amity and aspects were done quite well. I am not displeased that I took the time to read it.

  3. Nick
    Twitter:

    That is the biggest issue with comparing a book to another masterpiece in the blurb! You’re left with these huge expectations and feelings of excitement and then when it doesn’t deliver, you’re disappointed.
    Fluidity is so important in horror books for anyone to really feel like they are also in the story. I’m sorry to hear this was a disappointment for you, Kim! :(
    Lovely review though!
    Nick recently posted…Review : First World Problems by LeighAnn KopansMy Profile

  4. Rita
    Twitter:

    I don’t read almost any pure horror anymore, but this certainly sounds creepy. I read the true story book, and saw the original Amityville Horror with James Brolin, what a good one! Thanks for sharing this– I’m sure it’s a good fit for a younger horror audience.
    Rita recently posted…Jot It Down!- random thoughtsMy Profile

  5. Stormi
    Twitter:

    Yeah, I was hoping for something better too. My review will come next week. I just don’t think publishers do their authors any good when they set the bar so high..SK and AHS are way out of this stories league. If I wouldn’t have went into it thinking it’s going to be as good as Steven King then maybe it would have been better..or I am just desensitized to horror novels..after reading SK..lol.
    Stormi recently posted…Release Day Blitz: Whisper by Heather HildenbrandMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, I think having read the original and being a die-hard Stephen King fan hurt my enjoyment.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved the original book and since this was suppose to not be a retelling I had hoped for more. Thanks Heidi

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, I stated that in my opening paragraph as well, and I think it hurt this book as my expectations were not met. To be fair it does state this is not a retelling, but the flow just wasn’t there.

  6. Lorna
    Twitter:

    I loved the original Amityville Horror book and movie, but this doesn’t sound that good to me. Not connecting with a character would be a DNF for me, I think. Thanks for the well thought out review.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Lorna, aspects were well done, but sadly this one just didn’t wow me.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved the original too but this was suppose to be different..sadly it didn’t pass.

  7. Amber Elise

    I’m my mother’s child and my mother hates Stephen King so I’ve never read a SK novel (nor do I plan on it) so I wonder if I would like this.

    Hm…it does sound creepy though. I’m sorry that you didn’t like it, what were the flaws if I may ask?

    Amber Elise @ Du Livre

  8. kimbacaffeinate

    Amber from my review, “it did not move fluidly. Some moments felt rushed while others were over the top. I questioned the magical aspect of Gwen and wonder if it did not hurt the story. The tale has some horror scenes that will remind you of the Amityville Horror movie, but these are tamer and toned down. I think for its intended audience the horror aspect is good, but none of the characters were likable creating a disconnect.

  9. Wendy Darling
    Twitter:

    I think all the reviews I’ve seen for this book have been in the 1-2 star range. It’s too bad, the premise is cool and I love scary books when they’re done well, but I think many of the things that bothered you would bother me, too. It doesn’t sound like a fun read at all. Hope your next book is better!
    Wendy Darling recently posted…The Giver: film reviewMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It was an interesting twist Liz, as long as you don’t expect King. It wasn’t bad, or I would have done a DNF

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It was a mistake to mention him, aspects were good but ultimately I wasn’t thrilled

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Agreed, and while not many YA readers are old school King fans, it did set the bar way to high.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Ooo I love when that happens, and the author did a good job of making the house feel alive.

  10. Tyler H Jolley
    Twitter:

    I’m bummed it wasn’t as awesome as the synopsis. I think building it up with comparisons to Stephen King and American Horror Story (first season only please), really sets the bar high.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I agree Tyler, and while aspects were well done overall it was a let down.

  11. Jessica
    Twitter:

    Yeah . . . I didn’t think this would be a good one for me, and you have confirmed it. I don’t like creepy and horrific under the best of circumstances and books with significant plot holes definitely do not fall into the category of best of circumstances. Neither do books with unlikable characters. I’m sorry this wasn’t a great book for you, but I’m glad to (for one, LOL) be able to solidly cross a book of the list ;)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It wasn’t one I would purchase, but aspects were good. I think you will be fine passing on this one.

  12. Berls
    Twitter:

    I often wonder if those comparisons are doing anyone any favors – maybe people pick up the book, but then it’s like their doomed to be disappointed. The creepy sounds pretty good, but I really need to connect to my characters. The fact that there wasn’t just a disconnect, but that they are not at all likeable makes me think this really isn’t for me. Great review though!
    Berls recently posted…“Castle Leoch” S1:E2 | Outlander ThoughtsMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      No, it was just wrong to mention them, and it is a shame because some aspects were well done, and I liked the author’s approach to it.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge