Something Sweeter by Candis Terry

July 11th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 57 Comments

11th Jul
Something Sweeter by Candis Terry
Something Sweeter
by Candis Terry
Series: , Texas #3
Published by: HarperCollins
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The men in Texas are hard to resist . . .Seattle event planner Allison Lane is an expert at delivering the perfect wedding—even if she might not exactly believe in the whole "'til death do us part" thing. When her father decides to tie the knot with a woman he barely knows, Allison heads to Sweet, Texas, to make sure his new honey is the real deal. What she didn't expect to find at the local honky-tonk was a sexy Southern man as bent on charming her pants off as he is on blowing her "true love doesn't exist" theory all to hell. And they always promise . . .Veterinarian, former Marine, and Sweet's favorite playboy Jesse Wilder takes one look at Allison and knows she's a handful of trouble he can't deny. But even after a sizzling kiss and obvious mutual attraction, it seems Allison has no such problem. When Jesse uncovers her sweet side, can he crush his playboy image, melt her cynical heart, and change her mind about taking a trip down the aisle? Something sweeter

It was fun returning to the small-town of Sweet, Texas in Candis Terry’s third book Something Sweeter. We met veterinarian and former Marine Jesse Wilder in the previous two novels and I could not wait for his story. Fans of small-towns, families and sweet romances will adore the Sweet, Texas series and the Wilder brothers.

Five reasons to grab an iced coffee and curl up with Something Sweeter:

1. Brothers. The Wilder brothers are good men who are smexy, former Marines, and good to their Momma. The Wilder family is delightful. They are true Texans who love their football and country. They are far from perfect, but they have strong morals and family ties. I love the banter, teasing and concern they express for each other.

2. Sweet, Texas. This small-town is charming. Neighbors step up and help when needed and Terry had me longing to pack my bags. This town is quaint, where everyone knows each other and while folks might spread rumors like wildfire, they are quick to protect their own.

3. Characters. Terry creates characters that wrap around your heart. Jess Wilder loves his family, and chokes-up when an animal is abused or neglected. The man is good with his hands and easy on the eyes. He has put the happiness of his family first and despite rumors that he is a ladies’ man and  the truth is he works long hours, takes care of his family and spends his nights sleeping with his pets. Can I just say, “I adored him?” Allison Lane arrived in Sweet, Texas to meet the woman her father intends to marry. Her own opinions of marriage have been tarnished by her rocky childhood and her mother’s bevy of ex-husbands. Previous characters and couples are present, and it was delightful getting updates and seeing them all interact.

4. Something Sweeter is a feel-good, slow-building romance that begins with attraction and good intentions. Jesse is attracted to little firecracker Allison, but also considers her hands-off since her father is marrying his Mom. Her cynical views of marriage and true love have him trying to change her mind, and he enlists folks in town to help. The tale was sweet, with magic romantic moments. The romance built slowly from stolen kisses to holding hands. Both Jesse and Allison learned lessons, and see growth as they find something special.

5. Perfectly paced with realistic angst, and adult responses make this the perfect escape. I find that when I read Terry’s novels I lose track of time. While some of the tropes are familiar, and the issues that arise to keep Allison in town longer made me laugh she makes her characters come to life. I swoon, giggle, blush and even though I know my HEA will come it is a joy to see how it all come together.

Something Sweeter was another excellent addition to the Sweet, Texas series, and I cannot wait to return with Sweet Surprise in 2015. Fans of Robyn Carr and Bella Andre will enjoy this series. The sexual tension, and build up will make your heart flutter the heat is tame, making this perfect for a large audience.

About Candis Terry

Best selling and award winning author Candis Terry entertains readers with contemporary romance the Library Journal Reviews calls uniquely satisfying. Both her Sugar Shack and Sweet, Texas series deliver witty and emotional stories about how love, family, and a small town community defines the characters’ lives. Born and raised near the sunny beaches of Southern California, Candis now makes her home on an Idaho farm. She’s experienced life in such diverse ways as working in a Hollywood recording studio to chasing down wayward steers and loves to escape to the breathtaking Idaho forests to energize her imagination.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads everything fiction in YA, NA, and Adult. She's a self-professed Whovian, Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

57 Responses to “Something Sweeter by Candis Terry”

  1. Livia

    Sounds like a fun read, though I’ll admit I’m more of a hot-read kind of lover than the sweet, more like fluffy romance 😀 The characters point does stir my interest enough to want to give it a try.
    Livia recently posted…Carrier by Anne Tibbets & GiveawayMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Livia.I like hot too, but love mixing in these small-town swoons

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Franny, this series has been delightful

  2. Nick

    So many of my blogger friends enjoyed this book, Kim! I seriously need to give this series a shot. I love that Jesse gets upset when animals are abused. Gotta love a man who understands the pain of animal! 🙂
    The characters sound all too lovely! I’ll add this to my to-consider list, Kim! Lovely review!
    Nick recently posted…Review : Harder by Robin YorkMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      These are sweet Nick, and it’s nice to read about good guys 🙂

  3. Quinn

    I cannot get enough romance books lately, and I’m always a sucker for small town romances.

    I actually think I have one of these books (not this one) at home. Someone sent it to me, but I have never read anything by Candis Terry so I didn’t rush to read it. I’m thinking I need to remedy that right now. I think I have the first book. Is that as adorable as this one sounds?
    Quinn recently posted…Review: Falling for Max by Shannon StaceyMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This series was my first go with her Quinn. Go home and dig it out.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I love the setting too Carmel, and this is the perfect read between the UF we love

  4. Bea

    I like sweet romances but this sounds like it wouldn’t be my cup of tea. Sweet, Texas sounds too sweet and I have issues around step-siblings getting involved. Yeah, yeah, they’re not siblings yet but they will be. Eeeeew. Pity, cuz Jess sounds awesome. Maybe I’ll try a different book in the series,
    Bea recently posted…I’m At Romance at Random Today!My Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Hmm, I think if the parents weren’t in their 60-70’s I might have an issue. The fact that they are all adults didn’t give me that eeew. Jess was wonderful.

  5. Braine

    I read a book I hers from another series where they have a pastry shop or something and that ones good too! I love the down home feel of her books and she always have family love/drama/issues mixed with her stories. I love those kinds of story, totally relatable to me! Happy weekend!
    Braine recently posted…[Dis]Liked It: The Inheritance by Olivia MayfieldMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Pastry shop? hmmm damn Braine Now I need to go find it!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Jenea. I had a good time with this 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I do too Ali, even though it’s been used on several covers the color and feel is just right

  6. Sharlene Wegner

    I read the first book in the series & loved it! I have the 2nd one at home & really need to get to that & now this 3rd book! Thanks for the great review!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      You should grab them Melissa..perfect feel good reads!

  7. Kris

    I loved this book and agree with everything you said! The characters and town are wonderful. I lost track of time reading SOMETHING SWEETER 🙂
    Kris recently posted…Hot Kindle Deals!My Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I am so glad to hear you had a similar experience Kris. The entire series had left me smiling 🙂

  8. Christy

    I absolutely adore the cover of this book. I was going to grab it, but didn’t feel like reading the 1st 2 in time to review this one. I know I probably didn’t need to, but you know how I am. I’ll still read them in my own sweet time. <— ahahaha
    Christy recently posted…The Swan and the Jackal by JA RedmerskiMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      They are all good Christy. Watch for sales and snag them all!!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Jeann, these have all provided a wonderful escape that left me smiling

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Ooo I hope that was a good read too Vilia. Add this to your wishlist for sure!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This is a totally feel good series where you laugh, swoon and want more 🙂

  9. Lark

    Kimba, you keep dangling these tempting new series under my nose. Don’t you know I can’t resist? Aaaaand. . . onto my TBR list they go!
    Lark recently posted…Fairytale Read-a-thonMy Profile

  10. Tyler H Jolley

    There must be something in the blogger air because I’ve seen Something Sweeter everywhere lately. Great review, Kimba, I’m adding it to my TBR list!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      New release and summer tends to draw us to romances.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, you do Lauren, this is such a fun, feel good make you smile series 🙂