In the Mood for Love by Beth Ciotta

June 23rd, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Blog Tour, Giveaway, Interview 78 Comments

23rd Jun
In the Mood for Love by Beth Ciotta
In the Mood for Love
by Beth Ciotta
Series: Cupcake Lovers #4
Published by: St. Martin
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

When Harper Day blows into the small town of Sugar Creek, Vermont, she takes the sleepy community completely by surprise. A stunning beauty and frenzied workaholic, the celebrity publicist based out of L.A. maintains she will only be in Sugar Creek for vacations. The cozy atmosphere of Sugar Creek, however, has other plans. Haunted by a troubled past and insecure about her future, Harper finds solace in doing publicity for the Cupcake Lovers. Now if only she could get her life back in line, and put a stop to this newfound attraction she has for one of the members… Sam McCloud feels an intense connection to Harper, which makes things way more complicated. Still reeling from his wife's untimely death and focused on raising his two young children, Sam doesn't have the emotional strength to get close to a woman again. But when he finds Harper in a jam and the best solution leads to them constantly being together, Sam cannot deny their attraction. True, Harper is from a different world and still struggling with her past, but Sam is determined not to lose another woman he loves…

When I saw the cover and read the synopsis for In the Mood for Love by Beth Ciotta, I could not help but say yes to this tour. I love small-town romance and cupcakes! While this is the fourth in the Cupcake Lovers series, I was able to slip into this small-town story, and they quickly made me feel at home. Of course, after reading this I immediately picked up book one! In the Mood for Love offers a sweet romance, suspense, humor and a whole lotta heart.

When you first begin reading, you might, as I did feel overwhelmed by all the characters. I thought, “Oh no! I should have started at the beginning of this series.” Hang in there for the first chapter as, Ciotta quickly gets you acclimated. Then the focus of the tale switched to Harper and Sam. We also get side stories featuring a moody guitar player and hot gym instructor as well as a crazy meddling lady who changes her hair color for every occasion and her sweet boyfriend.

Sam is a widower and father of two. This sexy carpenter and ex-solider is the full package, and I could not help but adore him. The man bakes cupcakes!! Townsfolk know he is looking for a wife and mother for his two children and with the exception of some wild hook-ups with Harper Day the man has been celibate since the death of his wife. Harper Day bought a small farm in Sugar Creek that she uses for a retreat from her high-stress job. She is a celebrity publicist in L.A., but she also makes time to help promote the Cupcake Lovers group. Harper’s haunted by events from her past and the more I learned about her, the more I connected.

In the Mood for Love has one of my favorite tropes, and since the synopsis doesn’t mention it you will have to read it for yourself. I loved the banter, dance and interaction between Sam and Harper. The attraction was smoking hot. Most of the heat comes from the buildup and aside from one scene almost all of the sexual encounters are fade to black. Ciotta tackles some serious issues including PTSS and harassment. There are tender moments; tense moments and their storyline gave me the “feels.” I laughed, signed and even shed a tear. The side stories were wonderful. My favorite involved Adam and Peppy a musician. These two made me giggle:snort and I wanted more time with them. Then there was Daisy. This woman is a hoot from her blue hair to her matchmaking schemes.

If you are looking for a feel good summer romance with cupcakes and heart then grab a copy of In the Mood for Love. Fans of Robyn Carr, Bella Andre and Shannon Stacey will love Ciotta’s brand of small-town romance. I cannot wait to start the rest of the series.

About the Author

Beth CiottaStorytelling comes naturally to award-winning author Beth Ciotta. Dubbed “fun and sexy” by Publisher’s Weekly, Beth specializes in contemporary, historical, steampunk, and paranormal romantic fiction. Beth lives in NJ with her husband, two zany dogs, and a crazy cat. A retired professional performer, Beth now pours her artistic passion into her writing. To learn more about her colorful life, visit her website at www.bethciotta.com

Website|Facebook|Twitter|Goodreads

Cupcake Lovers Series

 

Tour Wide Giveaway

Cupcake Lovers Tote Bag w/ Print copy of ANYTHING BUT LOVE and Signed Cover Flat of IN THE MOOD FOR LOVE
a Rafflecopter giveaway

In-the-Mood-for-Love-Beth-Ciotta

 

Follow the Tour: Click for Schedule

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

78 Responses to “In the Mood for Love by Beth Ciotta”

  1. kindlemom1

    In the Mood for Love offers a sweet romance, suspense, humor and a whole lotta heart.

    This!

    Always a must in my romances. I like more than just romance once in a while. This sounds fantastic Kim!
    kindlemom1 recently posted…The Sunday PostMy Profile

  2. Braine Talk Supe

    I’d want to see you giggle-snort LOL… hey a romance book that gives you the feels? Heck I’m sold! Those are the best ones!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      hahaha..it’s not pretty Braine. My hubby laughs whenever I do it.

  3. Bonnie Franks

    Favorite flavor cupcake is vanilla with chocolate icing!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      You can never go wrong with a classic cupcake, thanks for stopping by Bonnie and good luck!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Enjoy Jackie and ooh chocolate-strawberry sounds amazing.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Exactly and she did. Thanks Mary this was good one 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      My son is not a cake eater either, so I understand. Thanks Quinn 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Loupe, this was fun and screams summer.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      thanks Lisa. Yes, this tale made me crave them!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Debbie, I look forward to the interview and appreciate the link-up

  4. Beth Ciotta

    Thank you for hosting the tour and thank you SO much for the incredibly kind and amazing review! You made my heart sing.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yea Sam was wonderful and I appreciate being able to jump in like this!

  5. Kristin

    OMG – you say the word cupcake and I’m like Pavlov’s dogs and I’m salivating all over the place. I’m starved for some cake now!!! My favorite flavor? Anything piled high with frosting, lots of fresh, sugary frosting. I think white might be my favorite. But the cupcakes have to be fresh, not days old. I had a bad experience and bought gourmet cupcakes once and they were so old I felt like I totally got jipped on how much I paid 🙁 But enough about my traumas…

    What an awesome summer read!! I love that it is cute but it has a serious side touching on PTSD. I’ll have to see if we have some of the older books in the library 😉 FABULOUS review girlie!!!
    Kristin recently posted…Review & Giveaway: Burnouts, Geeks & Jesus Freaks by Karen GordonMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Kristen, yes fresh is important and I like white cake too,

  6. Siiri

    Aw, this looks adorable 🙂 “love small-town romance and cupcakes!” You’re totally my kind of girl, Kim 😉 Idk what gets to me with sexy fathers in literature, but gimmmee!! And Sam does seem like the whole package 😉 Ha! AND HE BAKES CUPCAKES? Can he be any more perfect? Haha. I wonder what kind of trope it has 😉 Yay for a feel-good book. Gorgeous review, Kim 🙂
    Siiri recently posted…Review: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFeversMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, a man who served his country and bakes is all sorts of yummy! LOL you will need to read it to discover the trope!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Everyone needs cupcakes in their life! Thanks Stephanie.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, this had so many elements to make it sweet!

  7. erinf1

    congrats to Beth on the new release!!! I love red velvet cupcakes 😉

  8. Katherine

    A series about cupcakes set in a small town??!! How did I miss this? I will definitely have to look for this series. It’s nice to know I can start with this one but I will look for the first one. Thanks for sharing and adding to my TBR pile
    Katherine recently posted…The Cursed – ReviewMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It was wonderful, and yep I am going back to read the rest!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Right? My thoughts exactly Jenea. He was sweet and sexy

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Ooo yummy Anita..that would go lovely with my coffee right now. Good luck!

  9. Lily

    Okay i want to read this book alone because it features a man who bakes and is a carpenter which i found extremely awesome and i need to read all about him! Love how this one had some suspense, swoon moments and laughs! I’ll have to add this one to my TBR!
    Lily recently posted…The Art of Lainley:ReviewMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Enjoy Lily..yep all of those things made him yummy.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I was so glad I slipped into this story. Sometimes it pays off jumping in mid-stream, and yes I added a few books to my tbr pile and found a new author 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes Lauren this is a perfect book for your beach tote!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This is the perfect read for in-between those books Teddyree

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Oooh chocolate! Yes he is a delightful hero you cannot help but swoon for

  10. Lark

    I’ve been eying this series for some time, and I think you just convinced me to start them, Kimba! As for my favorite cupcake flavor… chocolate. Preferably dark, with a dark-chocolate buttercream or fudge buttercream icing. The more chocolate, the better!
    Lark recently posted…News & Notes – 6/28/14My Profile

  11. Skeeter Lee

    My favorite flavor of cupcake? Peanut Butter Supreme.

    My local cupcakery closed down recently. I guess that I’ll have to read about cupcakes until I find another baker or a yummy recipe. The Cupcake Lovers series sounds good.

    Thanks for hosting the giveaway. I love finding new authors to read. Fingers crossed to win.

    Have a great week!
    Skeeter Lee recently posted…Book Blast & Giveaway: I Love My… Trilogy by Sabrina LaceyMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Very sad news about your local bakery. You have me drooling over the PB supreme cupcake. Good luck Skeeter!