Honor Reclaimed by Tonya Burrows

June 4th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 68 Comments

4th Jun
Honor Reclaimed by Tonya Burrows
Honor Reclaimed
by Tonya Burrows
Series: HORNET #2
Published by: Entangled
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Former Marine sniper Seth Harlan is determined to prove that he can still do his job despite his ongoing battle with PTSD. When an old friend contacts HORNET to rescue a black ops soldier, Seth's stability is strained. He knows all too well what it's like to rot inside an enemy camp, praying for rescue and waiting for death. And he's not about to leave a man behind. Photojournalist Phoebe Leighton just stumbled into the middle of an arms deal. Teaming up with a ragtag team of mercenaries is the last thing she wants to do--especially when she realizes Seth Harlan is assigned to the mission. He may ignite a passion in her she thought long dead, but Phoebe's hiding a secret that could destroy him. With a bomb in the mix, HORNET's mission is suddenly about a lot more than an abandoned soldier. Racing against the clock, Seth, Phoebe, and the rest of the team struggle to stop a ruthless warlord bent on power, revenge...and death

I accepted Honor Reclaimed, the second book in the Hornet series, thinking it would get me to read the first book Seal of Honor that I own on my Nook. I have been eager to try Tonya Burrows romantic military suspense novels, but alas time slipped away from me, and I dove into this blind. Thankfully, each book features one couple. While I did not know the other members of the team, Burrows did a darn good job of bringing me up to speed. I am so glad I jumped, and I will be clearing time from my schedule to go back and read Seal of Honor. Ooh rah!

Five reasons to grab a cup of coffee and curl up with Honor Reclaimed

1. You love military men and OPS teams from the banter to the dangerous missions. What a dynamic team! They are flawed, fearless and funny, but they have each other’s six.  I adored going on missions with these sexy alpha males. Burrows fleshes out her characters from their training to their fears and we get it all!  She made them feel authentic, and I cared for this special black ops team and want to spend more time with them.

2. You love fleshed out, flawed, heroes and want to experience the “feels” Seth Harlan, stole my heart. I cried tears  for this man. I wanted to hold him and felt such pride for him. He has been through hell and back and endured the unthinkable. Burrows brought his past to life and shared his struggle with PTSD and the aftermath. She then gave us hope, and allowed him to grow and heal.

3. You love  intense romances that develops during war, and high action suspense. Phoebe Leighton is a photojournalist, who ends up involved in the Hornet’s secret ops mission. She is hiding something from her past that might destroy Seth. There is no denying the attraction these two share as they fight to save a fellow solider and stop a serious threat. I loved the interaction between Seth and Phoebe. Burrows wrote some tender scenes, added some angst and a little drama to make my gut flip-flop as I searched for my happy.

4. You appreciate facts, and love when an author has researched procedure, places, traditions and customs. Burrows did an incredible job with the world building and allowing us to see and understand PTSD, oppression, war and life overseas. She brought the landscape to life and gave the story and intense tone that felt realistic.

5. Mystery, Suspense, and chocolate rock your world. The action is non-stop, and Burrows will have you biting your nails and reaching for your stash of chocolate. Your heart races as you wipe away tears and completely lose track of time. Dinner? Oops! Hello, Dominos?

Honor Reclaimed was an intense, heartfelt read, and I cannot wait to spend more time with the Hornets. Fans of Lori Foster, Maya Banks and Laura Kaye, will want to own this series. Burrows knows how to deliver romantic military suspense, and I cannot wait to read more!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads everything fiction in YA, NA, and Adult. She's a self-professed Whovian, Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

68 Responses to “Honor Reclaimed by Tonya Burrows”

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I totally agree Paij. They make me swoon 🙂

  1. anna

    Woot! So glad you enjoyed your first! She’s one of my absolute favorites! Both series are really great and kinda fun because characters from each series will hop over to the other for a second for little guest appearances. Like Greer Wilde–he’s in her Wilde Security series. He totally made me cry too. So with you on that. Whew!
    anna recently posted…How to School Your Scoundrel (A Princess In Hiding #3) by Juliana GrayMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I adored this Anna, and have book one. So excited I tried it.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I have read Feehan, but don’t think I have tried that series *scribbles down Ghost Waker* I will check them out!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      hehehe..that gets me every time too! Something about men in uniform. Enjoy Amy 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      We are virtual besties. I adore those thing too! 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      hmm, I wonder if you are the reason I bought book one to begin with..well I cannot wait to devour it 🙂 thanks Mary

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I prefer this to straight up contemporaries, but then I read a little of everything 🙂 I need to check out that series as well. Thanks Andrea

  2. kindlemom1

    You truly had me at this line of your top reasons Kim: Burrows brought his past to life and shared his struggle with PTSD and the aftermath. She then gave us hope, and allowed him to grow and heal.

    I couldn’t resist that even if I tried!
    kindlemom1 recently posted…WoW Pick on the WeekMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I loved that and gads Seth will just steal your breath away.

  3. Lori

    I didn’t realize this was book two until now. My reading OCD gets in the way of reading a series out of order but I accidentally do it every so often! It’s great when you don’t feel lost while reading and each book in the series can equally stand alone. I’m not a big romantic suspense reader but I do love imperfect characters and sexy military men so I’ll be adding it to my list, thanks for the awesome review!
    Lori recently posted…Review: Sidekick by Auralee WallaceMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I struggle with that too Lori and if I hadn’t of gotten so sick I would have read them in order, but gads this is so good..so order both!

  4. Jenny

    “5. Mystery, Suspense, and chocolate rock your world. ”

    Clearly this book was written for me Kim! I absolutely LOVE a military hero, especially one who makes me cry and want to wrap him up in a giant hug and never let go. Off to Amazon now to order this one!
    Jenny recently posted…Interview and Giveaway: Elsie Chapman + DividedMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Squee! I cannot wait to hear what you think Jenny 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It is so weird Sophia. I am getting multiple duplicate comments from you in my spam folder. This post has 3 all the same.

  5. aurian

    Great review Kimba, I do like this format. Not sure I will be adding another new author to my wishlist though. I do have enough of this genre on my shelves at the moment.
    aurian recently posted…Faith Hunter – BloodringMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Well if you decide too when a series ends..I cannot recommend this enough. Thanks Aurian

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Enjoy Felicia all it needs is a glass of wine

  6. Kim { Book Swoon }

    I love stories that featuring a band of brothers who share a camaraderie, especially if they are sexy, alpha males that give you all the feels. Wow, this series sounds really action packed too, Kimba. I’m going to add book one to my list. (This is a perfect excuse for me, since I’m trying to read more contemporaries.) See how I reasoned that out. I blame you for my growing list every week – LOL 🙂
    Kim { Book Swoon } recently posted…Waiting On Wednesday: The Spiritglass Charade by Colleen GleasonMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes! Enjoy Kim I have book one and cannot wait to read it 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I love the suspense, and team dynamics. Thanks Candace

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I totally did, it was wonderful. I love when a book can capture me like that 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This was wonderful, I hope you get a chance to read it Melissa

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, do that. To be honest if I had not gotten sick I would have read book one first..but I will soon 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I so agree, and I love how she brought it all to life

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Ooo me too Angela, it is one of my favorite genres.

  7. Melliane

    wow you cried for him? It’s impressive. It’s nice that you had a good time with it, I confess I do the same, accepting second books while I have the first one so I read it lol and one less in the TBR pile. Great review!
    Melliane recently posted…Guest Post with Sherry Soule + GiveawayMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Oh yeah I totally cried for him. Burrows made him very real and I got the “feels” bad.