Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard

kimbacaffeinate Review 78 Comments

20th Feb
Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard
Moth and Spark
by Anne Leonard
Links: Website
Publisher: Penguin
on February 20, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars
A prince with a quest. A commoner with mysterious powers. And dragons that demand to be freed—at any cost. Prince Corin has been chosen to free the dragons from their bondage to the Empire, but dragons aren’t big on directions. They have given him some of their power, but none of their knowledge. No one, not the dragons nor their riders, is even sure what keeps the dragons in the Empire’s control. Tam, sensible daughter of a well-respected doctor, had no idea before she arrived in the capital that she is a Seer, gifted with visions. When the two run into each other (quite literally) in the library, sparks fly and Corin impulsively asks Tam to dinner. But it’s not all happily ever after. Never mind that the prince isn’t allowed to marry a commoner: war is coming to Caithen. Torn between Corin’s quest to free the dragons and his duty to his country, the lovers must both figure out how to master their powers in order to save Caithen. With a little help from a village of secret wizards and a rogue dragonrider, they just might pull it off

Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard was a delightful romantic fantasy with Dragons, Kings, and Wizards.  Leonard gave us the details one expects in high fantasy, without the three hundred characters. This was a mid to light fantasy that I didn’t want to end. The author’s writing has been influenced by Austen, and I felt it humming through her prose and attention to detail. Mini review: Dragons, lore, romance, magic and wizards this tale held me captive from page one.

Tam, the daughter of a well-respected doctor attends Summer Court at Caithenor where she will soon discover she is a Seer. Prince Corin has been tasked with freeing the Dragons. He is torn between protecting his family and country as tensions heat up and war awaits on the horizon. When these two collide outside the library, the sparks fly. A forbidden romance, evil, dragons, wizards, plots and betrayal all await them and the tale that unfolded held me spellbound.

Leonard told the tale using dual POV’s, and it was brilliantly done. Unlike, high fantasy, the secondary characters were kept at a minimum. Some were fleshed out and others just enough for us to understand their role in the story that unfolds. Tam and Corin were wonderful as our hero and heroine. Both are young but share a love of knowledge and logic. They played off each others strengths and trusted in each other. All of this made their friendship and romance feel genuine. Their relationship developed quickly, but since she is a commoner and he a Prince both go into the relationship aware of its limitations. War, dragons and quests kept the flames burning but Leonard allowed them to develop a relationship beyond attraction and lust. The King and Queen were wonderful both as leaders and parents. Those attending the Summer Court added interest, conflict and humor to the tale. Corin’s security team and the wizard community added substance without pulling us away from our couple.

I love fantasy, and forbidden or impossible romances and Moth and Spark delivered. The countryside, dragons, court and castle, came to life in panoramic detail without slowing the pace. While there is a war, alliances, magic and quests our couple remain at the center of the plot. I adored both Tam and Corin as they worked together. They reminded me of Claire and Jamie from Outlander. Leonard’s description of the Dragons and their riders left me breathless. Communication between beast and man was beautiful, and I shall forever dream of flying. The world-building regarding the quest and war was well done and kept the tale light. The front of the book contains a map which further helped me see the fields, mountains and forests. For me, this was the type of novel that I didn’t want to end, EVER. I was disappointed that this doesn’t appear to be a series or trilogy. The climax and ending were beautifully render, and threads tied up but, and this is a minor but; I felt it was a tad rushed. For me at least this book could have handled another two hundred pages.

Fans of Austen, Outlander and romantic fantasy will find magic within the pages of Moth and Spark. Oh and there are Dragons!  I want more, plain and simple and look forward to Anne Leonard’s next novel.

Four cups of coffee out of five
four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

78 Responses to “Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard”

  1. kindlemom1
    Twitter:

    I admit I am not a huge high fantasy fan or even dragon fan but to say this had an Austen feel (influence) to it so makes me want to pick it up and try it.

    Darn it Kim, knock it off, my TBR pile can’t take it.
    kindlemom1 recently posted…Waiting on WednesdayMy Profile

  2. Melliane
    Twitter:

    Oh it’s nice, I really like the cover! I didn’t know this one but I like the sound of it. It’s been a while since I read a dragon novel. I confess I don’t have a lot so it’s interesting to find an interesting book with them in it. I’m also always anxious when we have multiple POVs but if it’s only a dual one it’s usually perfect for me. Thanks for the lovely review.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, Austen influenced her writing and the setting and romance reminded me of Outlander :)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      It is romantic fantasy with dragons who could ask for anything more..LOL

  3. Jenny
    Twitter:

    I’m reading this one right now Kim! While I have to admit it started out a bit slow for me as the politics were being outlined and the war was being setup, once Corin and Tam met however things picked up for me. Romance always has a way of drawing me into a story, and I just love the two of them together. I can’t wait to see how everything ends!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I am glad it picked up for you. I loved all of the deets in the beginning from the political dynamics to the castle’s inter-workings but yes when they meet the tale takes off!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, the couples interaction and the setting gave me that Outlander vibe and I so enjoyed it. This isn’t nearly as detailed but wonderful all the same.

  4. Sam
    Twitter:

    I love fantasy and forbidden romances too. This sounds completely like my sort of book! I usually don’t mind a large character cast, but it is a bit of a relief to get something lighter. Easier to keep track of everyone. :) Awesome review, Kimba! I’ll definitely be checking this one out when I can.
    Sam recently posted…Review: The Winner’s Curse by Marie RutkoskiMy Profile

  5. Jessica
    Twitter:

    I really haven’t been paying attention. I’ve seen this book half a dozen times at least, and it just bounced right off my radar. Which is ridiculous b/c after reading your review, it’s obvious that this is exactly my kind of read. Thanks for waking me up. You’re a doll ;)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      You will love this couple, they a strong and play off it other well :)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes and you adore romance too..so this should be the perfect escape for you!!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I feel you on the TBR pile, you can watch for a sale and snag this down the line since you know it’s a standalone

  6. Jessica

    Ooh nice review! Seeing this one around a bit lately and started to get intrigued! Definitely sounds like great fantasy! Might have to look for other reviews and then decide if I need to buy it myself! But I’ve definitely added a check in the positive category!

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I hope other reviews you read agree, I quite enjoyed this one Jessica :)

  7. Zoe

    This one sounds great! I have kind of a love/hate experience with fantasy, but I have a feeling this would definitely be something I’d enjoy! The characters sound amazing, and I love the sound of how original the plot is. And the dragons! YEAH!

    Thanks for sharing, and, as always, brilliant review!
    Zoe recently posted…UninvitedMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This is a light fantasy that will surely cross genre boundaries, I hope you give it a whirl Zoe :)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Agreed when a reader wants more you know it will be a good tale :)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Agreed Mary..it was the perfect escape and I thoroughly enjoyed it :)

  8. Tabitha the Pabkins
    Twitter:

    I was actually pretty excited that it wasn’t setup as a trilogy or series. Personally I know we are disappointed by the end if we want more and there is no for sure about it being a series but in a way I’m EXCITED about that. Because if there is great but if there isn’t then hooray its a marvelous standalone and we got everything we needed.
    Tabitha the Pabkins recently posted…Guest Post & Giveaway: Dragonlore from MOTH AND SPARKMy Profile

  9. Faye
    Twitter:

    Dragons?! Did anyone say dragons?! those beautiful, fire-breathing beasts mythical beasts that soar the blue skies?! Count me in! Also helps that this is a well-written Fantasy! there are so many fantasy books these days that are way too dragging because of the efforts of the author to detail every single thing in such an exhaustive manner. This one sounds different than that, though, especially if the reader keeps wanting for it to be longer! :P

    Awesome review, Kim!
    Faye recently posted…ARC Review and Giveaway (PH/US/CAN): Faking Normal by Courtney StevenMy Profile

  10. Lindy
    Twitter:

    Kim,
    This book sounds great! I love fantasy, dragons, Prince’s, and a wonderful love story. Look forward to this. I too like trilogies when it comes to lengthening the storyline. Thanks for the thoughtful review.

    Lindy

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Me too..this was wonderful and every time someone comments and I think about the book I just get this huge, sloppy grin on my face. LOL

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This is adult, and some said the beginning was a tad slow with the details but honestly I loved every minute of this. Once the couple meet everyone fell in love with the tale.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      This is adult and maybe that is why..but clean and so wonderful Danny.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Exactly and the details were wonderful with a couple I adored.

  11. Jess
    Twitter:

    I have always wanted to fly- so the fact that this book will have me dreaming of flying drew me in right away. Plus, I love fantasy- and this has many elements I enjoy in a book. This sounds awesome. So glad to hear you liked it. Thanks for sharing. :)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I wish there was more time with the Dragons..but the romance was strong and I adored the characters..enjoy Jess. You are right this has many elements and they were well done.