Compromising Willa by Diana Quincy

January 11th, 2014 kimbacaffeinate Review 32 Comments

11th Jan
Compromising Willa  by Diana Quincy
Compromising Willa
by Diana Quincy
Series: Accidental Peers #3
Published by: Entangled
Genres: Historical Romance
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

England, 1805 Lady Wilhelmina Stanhope is ruined and everyone knows it. Back in Town for the first season since her downfall, Willa plans to remain firmly on the shelf, assuming only fortune hunters will want her now. Instead she focuses on her unique tea blends, secretly supporting a coffee house which employs poor women and children. If her clandestine involvement in trade is discovered, she'll be ruined. Again. No one is more shocked by Willa's lack of quality suitors than the newly minted Duke of Hartwell. Having just returned from India, the dark duke is instantly attracted to the mysterious wallflower. His pursuit is hampered by the ruthless Earl of Bellingham, who once jilted Willa and is now determined to reclaim her. Caught between the clash of two powerful men, a furious Willa refuses to concede her independence to save her reputation. But will she compromise her heart?

Diana Quincy is quickly becoming one of my favorite Regency romance authors, with her head-strong, feisty heroines and swoon-worthy men. In Compromising Willa, the third book in the Accidental Peers series she gives us witty banter and a woman almost on the shelf who suddenly finds herself the center of attention. Mini review: suspenseful and romantic with delicious banter.

During Lady Wilhelmina Stanhope’s first season, she naively thought herself caught up in a forbidden love, and rumor has it, she was ruined. Title and family name have kept the ton from shunning her, but in the four years since there haven’t been any offers of marriage. Returned from India, the Duke of Hartwell finds himself attracted to the mysterious, opinionated and witty, wallflower. The Earl of Bellingham tries to thwart Hartwell’s pursuit and reclaim the woman he ruined. The tale that unfolds kept me flipping the pages and I consumed this in a single evening.

Quincy yet again gave me fleshed out characters to love and loathe. I have long stated I adore strong, independent, smart and feisty heroines and Lady Wilhelmina Stanhope (Willa) is all of those things. Willa is knowledgeable in things that usually interest men, makes her own blends of tea, helps those less fortunate and fully intends to keep her independence. The Duke of Hartwell is definitely swoon-worthy and has modern thinking opinions towards woman. He is known for having a temper but those in his inner circle know he protects the innocent. He is used to women falling at his feet and when Willa doesn’t it intrigues him. He loves her sharp wit and appreciates her intelligent conversations. He finds himself enthralled by her seductive looks and his pursuit of her was fun! Bellingham has just come into his title, and he fully intends to have Willa as his own and will use any means necessary. I wanted to tar and feather the baboon.

Compromising Willa had an engaging plot line that kept me thoroughly engrossed. While, at first glance, the synopsis may lead you to believe there is a love triangle, I assure you it is anything but. Quincy wove in secrets, scandal and threats that had me on edge, all while slowly building a relationship between Hartwell and Willa. We see some of the darker aspects of the ton and the social ladder that made me cringe. I love that her characters, especially the women, seek to correct them. There was a dark thread adding a little danger and suspense that left us guessing as to what would unfold next. Willa’s independent streak, misunderstanding, her friends and personal fears all interfered as we move towards our HEA. Quincy delicately balanced all this making it feel genuine, and I loved how all of the pieces clicked into place.

Fans of strong characters, regency romance, and a little suspense will enjoy Compromising Willa and the Accident Peers series. The fourth book, Engaging the Earl is expected to release this summer. Each of the books in the series can be read as a standalone and involve independent woman of the ton and their romances.

Four cups of coffee out of five
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Accidental Peer Series

About Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she’d rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed. Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love Diana’s Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is “Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable…Equal parts action, passion and fun.” Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

32 Responses to “Compromising Willa by Diana Quincy”

  1. Tanja

    Just the other day I talked with my friend about books and I complained how I haven’t read book about first season and all that in a while. This one sounds like something that’d be good thing to read. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Great review, Kim 🙂
    Tanja recently posted…2014 YA Contemporary ChallengeMy Profile

  2. Jonetta (Ejaygirl)

    I’ve been looking for a new historical romance and this is really appealing. Thanks for the review and the introduction to a new series!

  3. Braine Talk Supe

    I love the cover art, I wouldn’t have thought its regency at first glance.

    Revisiting historicals is on my blogger resolution this year. I miss the genre but I want my first read to be mind blowing, I don’t want to settle for poorly written, trashy stories. I want the kind of tension I can only get from historicals. I will earmark this series for future reference.
    Braine Talk Supe recently posted…Love It: Behind His Eyes by Aleatha RomigMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      After my five year hiatus I am enjoying one or two a month, this series is delightful.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Yes, and you know I adored it. I have Seducing Charlotte and the wait is on for the fourth book..LOL

  4. Lindy

    I love reading historical romances and feeling like I am in a different tim a and place. I love strong heroines that fight against society’s rules and prejudices. Plus the whole suspense, and threat of danger add to the excitement. I like that the main guy has an open mind and forward thinking. Awesome Review Kim!!!
    Lindy recently posted…Blog Tour: Awaken (Spiral of Bliss #3) by Nina LaneMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Agreed I do like men in this era who can handle independent, strong-minded woman 🙂

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I am really enjoying them and I love when a book has a little suspense, heat and can make me laugh too:)

  5. Berls

    First of all, I’m love that cover! Secondly – I think I would love Lady Wilhelmina (awesome regency name too!). I’m a big fan of headstrong ladies. I haven’t dug into a historical in a while, maybe it’s time!
    Berls recently posted…Sunday Post | 26th EditionMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge