Big Sky Secrets by Linda Lael Miller

December 23rd, 2013 kimbacaffeinate Review 40 Comments

23rd Dec
Big Sky Secrets by Linda Lael Miller
Big Sky Secrets
by Linda Lael Miller
Series: , Montana #6
Published by: Harlequin
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Western
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Self-made tycoon Landry Sutton heads to Hangman Bend's Ranch to sell his land to his brother Zane. Though he's got cowboy in his blood, Landry plans to return to city life before the dust even settles on his boots. Of course, he didn't count on falling for Big Sky Country…or Ria Manning. Ria's starting to settle into country life herself…until she has a close encounter of the terrifying kind with a buffalo. Turns out the peeping monster belongs to the cowboy next door—and he has her running even more scared than his bison. She wants a home where the buffalo don't roam, and the men don't either. Could Landry's homecoming be her heart's undoing?

Big Sky Secrets is the sixth and final book in the Parable, Montana series (previously named Swoon-worthy Cowboys) by Linda Leal Miller. I have enjoyed the journey, and hope we will one day get to visit Parable and its inhabitants again. This tale belongs to Landry Sutton and Ria Manning. This was one of my favorites as these two strong, flawed characters healed and found their slice of happy. Mini review: sweet, hot and thoroughly entertaining.

Landry Sutton brother to Zane owns Hangman’s Bend Ranch. A cowboy by blood he has made his career in the city, but decides to try ranch life. Even after a year he has every intention of moving on, that is until a little filly named Ria Manning gets under his skin. Ria Manning owns the land next to Landry; he and his meddling buffalo make her absolutely crazy. She farms flowers and makes a modest living, but Parable offers her safety after losing her husband. These two are like oil and vinegar, but when you shake things up the tale that unfolds is mighty tasty.

Landry is a walking drink of yummy, after all he is Zane’s younger brother. He is divorced, successful and quite literally a ship without a compass. The man has Daddy issues, and a whole lot of guilt to carrying around. He needs a woman, and I since the two first encountered each other in a previous novel, I knew Ria was the woman for him. Now Ria would have told you, “Absolutely not! That, Landry is just full of himself and too darn good looking for his own good.” Ria was married, and while it wasn’t perfect, it was safe, that is until her husband Frank died. She has unknowingly shut herself off, and Landry quite frankly scares her. She feels things, and she reacts with snarky remarks. It was such fun watching the sparks fly and being witness to their banter. Ria’s half-sister and niece are introduced and added both drama and humor to the tale. Of course, familiar folks from Parable make appearances, and it was a joy to see them again.

Big Sky Secrets, like all of Miller’s novels, delivered a heartfelt romance with fleshed out, flawed characters that experience growth, make you laugh and swoon on the way to their HEA. It isn’t always an easy path, but you quickly get caught up in the tale. In this tale, Miller brought some overall arc threads together, giving closer to things we were curious about. I connected to both Landry and Ria making the read enjoyable. They had realistic issues, baggage and fears. The romance was hot, funny, and sweet. I loved the vulnerable side of them, and the goofy things they did. Landry has the same noble streak that Zane has, and I  love that in my book boyfriends. While I am sad to see this series come to an end I am glad, it ended with such a delightful couple.

Fans of Parable, Montana series, will delight in Big Sky Secrets. If you’ve never tried a contemporary western romance Miller is a wonderful place to start. I look forward to her upcoming Brides of Bliss County, beginning with the first book , The Marriage Pact being released in May 2014.

Four cups of coffee out of five
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads and listens to fictional stories in all genres. She's a self-professed Whovian, as well as a Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

40 Responses to “Big Sky Secrets by Linda Lael Miller”

  1. Tanja

    Oh my. It’s been a while since I have read any western story. But well mostly genre are dictated to me, I rarely get to pick them. Anyhow I’m so glad you enjoyed this and if I ever get to western contemporary story I’ll start with this author. Great review 🙂
    Tanja recently posted…The 2014 TBR Pile Challenge by TanjaMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I love reading all genres it keeps things interesting. Thanks Tanja 🙂 Merry Chrismtas

  2. Kristin

    I think I just got “schooled” in Linda Lael Miller! Thank you!!! Her books are in one of my sections so I’m always having to put them back in order (there are so freaking many of them!!!) and since I haven’t read any of them yet, I now feel like I can actually say something about one of them! And thanks for the news on the new series 🙂

    Great lesson!!!
    Kristin recently posted…Top 10 of 2013: The Best Books I Read in 2013My Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Ha, she has written a lot from historical western to contemporary and I have read so dang many of them..LOL

    • kimbacaffeinate

      I love that her books/series all work well as standalone. glad you liked this too Anna. 🙂

  3. Jenny

    I’ve never read a western romance Kim, but I’ve heard Linda is a fantastic go-to author to give it a try. I really like the sound of the romance; hot, funny and sweet sounds pretty darn perfect to me! I’ll have to go and check out the first book in this series:):)

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Thanks Jenny. Her tales combine small-town romance and family which makes them enjoyable.

    • kimbacaffeinate

      Enjoy Sharlene. If you like small-town romances, families and snarky meddlers you will enjoy these.

  4. Braine Talk Supe

    I don’t know why but books like this, swoony, sweet and feel good, excites me and has me thinking of Hallmark/Lifetime movies. Western romances isn’t really my “thing” book-wise but I do enjoy it on the small screen. So every time I read/see books like this one, I do a b list casting couch LOL.
    Braine Talk Supe recently posted…Emerald Eyes Primer with N. MichaelsMy Profile

    • kimbacaffeinate

      awe that is ok. I love them, but I also love tattooed bad boys and alpha shifters and military men and geeky nerd types with messy hair..uh yeah I am a book boyfriend slut.

  5. Andrea

    I read one book in this series, and it was sweet but I didn’t love it. Perhaps I should give it another chance? Big Sky Secrets sounds very nice. Great review!

    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge