Waiting on Wednesday # 44

May 21st, 2013 kimbacaffeinate WoW 48 Comments

21st May

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine

Blackout 

by Robison Wells
Series: Blackout #1
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication date: October 1, 2013
Genre: YA Science fiction/thriller
*purchases through buy links help support this blog

Laura and Alec are trained terrorists.

Jack and Aubrey are high school students.
There was no reason for them to ever meet.
But now, a mysterious virus is spreading throughout America, infecting teenagers with impossible powers. And these four are about to find their lives intertwined in a complex web of deception, loyalty, and catastrophic danger—where one wrong choice could trigger an explosion that ends it all. In Blackout, Wells delivers a lightning-fast, nail-bitingly intense thriller that’s perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and I Am Number Four-set in a complex and unpredictable world, where the greatest threat comes from a weapon that no one knows how to control…and the most chilling questions have yet to be answered.

A virus is spreading! (we’ve heard that before) The twist is it giving teens super POWERS! Add in trained terrorists and I am in! This promises to be a thriller and perfect for fans of I Am Four..which is me!!

A Clockwork Heart 
by Liesel Schwarz
Series: Chronicles of Light and Shadow #2
Publisher: Random House
Publication date: August 13, 2013
Genre: Adult Steampunk
Pre-order*: Barnes and Noble/Amazon/Book Depository

FOR BETTER OR CURSE. That might as well have been the wedding vow of Elle Chance and her new husband, the ex-Warlock Hugh Marsh in the second book of this edgy new series that transforms elements of urban fantasy, historical adventure, and paranormal romance into storytelling magic. As Elle devotes herself to her duties as the Oracle—who alone has the power to keep the dark designs of Shadow at bay—Marsh finds himself missing the excitement of his former life as a Warlock. So when Commissioner Willoughby of the London Metropolitan police seeks his help in solving a magical mystery, Marsh is only too happy to oblige. But in doing so, Marsh loses his heart . . . literally. In place of the flesh-and-blood organ is a clockwork device—a device that makes Marsh a kind of zombie. Nor is he the only one. A plague of clockwork zombies is afflicting London, sowing panic and whispers of revolution. Now Elle must join forces with her husband’s old friend, the Nightwalker Loisa Beladodia, to track down Marsh’s heart and restore it to his chest before time runs out.

I enjoyed  A Conspiracy of Alchemists the first book and I am anxious to dive back into the world Schwarz has created! Is this series new to you? Read my review of book one: HERE

What Book(s) are you Waiting On? 
Copyright (c) 2011-2013 Caffeinated Book Reviewer
Photo of kimbacaffeinate
About Kimberly
Kimberly is a coffee loving book addict who reads everything fiction in YA, NA, and Adult. She's a self-professed Whovian, Supernatural, and Sherlock Holmes junkie, She enjoys sharing books, tips, recipes and hosting the Sunday Post. The coffee is always on and she is ready to chat... Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Stay Caffeinated!

Never miss a post by adding Caffeinated to your Inbox

Your email address will not be shared with anyone

48 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday # 44”

  1. Book Swoon

    Both Blackout and A Clockwork Heart sound amazing. I almost picked up A Conspiracy of Alchemist the other day because it sounds so great. But, I’m a bit overloaded with books from the library this week 😀 Kim at Book Swoon

  2. Miss Page-Turner

    Oh sorry, I didn’t want to confuse you. I just wanted to say that I yet have to read anything by Robison Wells. He sounds like a great author and Variant is one of his books that I have already on my shelf.

  3. kimberlybuggie

    A Clockwork Heart looks amazing!!! Can’t wait to read it.
    Happy long weekend!!!

  4. Miss Page-Turner

    Wow, the Blackout cover is simply but stunning! I have Variant on my shelf still waiting to be read. Will have to read it very soon!:)

  5. candacerobinson

    Oh I still really want to read A Conspiracy of Alchemists! I thought Black Out was part of a series, but I guess not!

  6. Lauren

    I’m really excited to read Black Out too! I really liked your review for A Conspiracy of Alchemists, so I’m hoping to try it soon. I’m sure I’ll be more than ready for book two once I’m done! Great picks, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. kimbacaffeinate

    I feel you, I am overloaded with ARC at the moment..so many good looking books coming out and an inability to resist them!

  8. Maja (The Nocturnal Library)

    Ah, yes, I have both of these and I’m excited about both, especially the Clockwork Heart and I have both, but they aren’t on my schedule for a while. I hate it when that happens, lol, I want to read them so badly.

  9. Heidi

    I enjoyed Liesel’s first book, I am becoming a bit hesitant these days on Harper Teen’s books as they have been a flop so far this year for me. Let’s hope this one pans out!

  10. thegeekyblogger

    Oddly enough I am going to give Blacklist a whirl. It actually looks pretty darn good 🙂

  11. Melissa (Books and Things)

    Oh no!! You have found more books for me to want! Bad blogger… LOL

  12. Christa

    Black Out sounds incredible! And I’m really excited to read more about Elle Chance 🙂

  13. Jenny Zemanek

    So excited for Black Out Kimba! It sounds like it’s going to be non-stop action, and I so enjoy a page turner like that:) I haven’t read anything by Robison Wells either, so I’m looking forward to giving him a try!

  14. Natalie

    Black Out does sound really interesting. I love books with super powers. I have the Conspiracy of Alchemists and even started reading it, but then got distracted and never picked it back up. I’ll need to remedy that before this one comes out. I love those covers. Great picks!

  15. kimbacaffeinate

    I really liked it and hope you pick it back up. I love Super Powers too, unless you’re a Time Lord and then your just great!

  16. Andrea

    Nice picks! Both have gorgeous covers. Thanks for sharing!

  17. Toni

    Blackout sounds freaking fantabulous! Just added to my TBR. Thanks so much for sharing it 🙂